Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Pavlov’s gardeners

with one comment

I usually provide my gardeners with bottles of cold water while they blow the dust off my fake lawn but some months ago it dawned on me that they may actually like something a little more interesting so I started taking them out a can of soft drink and a bag of crisps each. On a cold day, I was even moved to provide a flask of hot tea or coffee and some biscuits.

I think it went down well, but DH was not so impressed.

“You’re creating a rod for your own back,” he declared on seeing the 20-pack of chips marked “Gardeners” in the larder. I’m guessing he was piqued that he doesn’t get Tango and crisps at home, only Delia’s mushroom risotto with porcini and Parmesan.

And yes, he may have a point. But, to be honest, it makes me happy to bring the two of them a little joy in their long working day.

Anyway, since the campaign of chips and soft drinks began, I’ve noticed two developments:  1) The gardeners have been coming more often (three times a week, though I’m sure I’m paying only for once a week) and 2) the team for our small, low-maintenance garden has been upped from two to three men.

Yesterday, as I bustled out of the front door with three cans of Lilt and three bags of Bugles in my arms, DH shook his head.

“Watch out,” he said. “Before you know it, you’ll be offering dim sum and a selection of dips.”

Written by mrsdubai

March 18, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have probably accomplished more for diplomatic relations with Dubai thanks to your supply of crisps and soft drinks than a state department visit from your home country. Seems like a small price to pay. Good for you, I say! 🙂

    globalexplorer1

    March 19, 2013 at 8:01 pm


Leave a Reply

