Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The mummy shoes

with 5 comments

I’ve always had funky taste in shoes. DH would say the words “fashion victim” were more pertinent, but I prefer to stick with “funky”. I’ve never been afraid to experiment with shoes – as Gerlie will happily testify. Somewhere, deep in the Philippines, not just Gerlie’s family, but a whole village, is proudly wearing my shoe mistakes.

The latest acquisition to the shoe wardrobe. Classic and incredibly comfy - and embarrassingly from Clarks

The latest acquisition to the shoe wardrobe. Classic, incredibly comfy – and, embarrassingly, from Clarks

Still, I’ve noticed since I turned 40 that my taste in shoes is changing. Ever so slowly, the “funky” shoes are being replaced with more classic styles. Part of this is age, and part of the blame I can definitely lay at the door of my friend A – a lady with impeccable taste. It is she who introduced me to the concepts both of classic courts and of flats.

So, these days I’m swaying more towards a wardrobe of classic shoes in classic colours – shoes a bit more expensive than the “funky” ones; shoes that last a bit longer. And I’ve discovered that, while classic shoes in classic colours may not garner comments, they do tend to go with everything, last forever and, if you pay a bit more, they also tend to have technology such as little air-bag things inside them that make them secretly comfy, too.

The only problem with the latest pair (reasonably tasteful nude heels, secret air-bags for comfort and none of that Kate-Middie mini-platform business going on) is this: Can I admit to anyone – anyone – that that they’re from [looks around and whispers furtively] Clarks?

Written by mrsdubai

March 13, 2013 at 5:56 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha! I was browsing the Clarks website for my son yesterday and found myself drawn to the women’s section. Some were surprisingly nice. I may be joining you soon.

    farfromhomemama

    March 14, 2013 at 12:03 am

    • I do believe they’re ethe most comfortable heels I’ve ever worn…. go for it!

      mrsdubai

      March 20, 2013 at 9:42 pm

  2. I have to admit I bought my first pair of Clarks last summer,about 30 years after my mum bought me my last pair! You can walk for miles in them! Like your nude pair (of shoes, that is!)…might just pop by Clarks tomorrow when DH takes the munchkins to rugby!

    Dubai Mum

    March 14, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  3. I’m afraid I’ve gone one step further. I have a Clarks handbag which sadly gets a lot more use than the glam white Armani number I bought in Dubai…

    Alex

    March 18, 2013 at 4:32 pm


Leave a Reply

