Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Recycling my empties #embarrassing

with 3 comments

When the garage becomes so full of black bags of empties that I can no longer squeeze the car in, I know it’s time to tackle the recycling. But it’s a sensitive thing, recycling, especially here in Dubai where not everyone “gets” your little 5pm wine habit.

Friday morning chez Mrs Dubai. Seriously, I'm kidding - we really had had a party.

Friday morning chez Mrs Dubai. Seriously, I’m kidding – we really had had a party.

 

Anyway, after I had to climb over two black bags of bottles just to get to the house door last night I thought I’d better remove the kiddie car seats and load up the 7-seater with bottles to take to the recycling bins. I tried to pick what I thought would be a quiet time this morning, but it turned out it was the exact time that the recycling bins themselves were being emptied.

Not only that, but another couple was there…. there to recycle one pizza box and one wine bottle – I kid you not. I bet they’d been drinking the wine since September, too.  

Anyway, so the guy who was in charge of getting the crane to empty the glass bin into the lorry indicated to me that I should use a different bin. It was the size of a wheelie bin.

I looked at the bin and I thought about the six bin-bags of empties wedged into the back two rows of my car and I thought, “They’re never going to fit in there.” Each bag was the size of a chubby three-year-old.

“There’s quite a lot,” I said to the guy, who plainly didn’t speak a word of English.

So I opened the boot.

The couple with the pizza box and the wine bottle fainted. Flat out in the car park.

“We had a party!” I said, to no-one in particular, since the couple was out cold. “You don’t think I drank these myself!” I trilled a little laugh. “I’ve been collecting them since 2009!”

The recycling man looked into the back of the car as I struggled with the first bag.

“Uh,” he said in Hindi. Or it may have been Urdu – I’m not sure. “I take.”

And it would be amusing for me to say that he attached each bag to the crane and swung them straight up into the lorry. But he didn’t – he just heaved them out and tipped them in. God bless him. I won’t leave it so long next time. It’s too embarrassing.

Written by mrsdubai

February 4, 2013 at 6:19 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh – tee-hee-hee!

    Kate

    February 5, 2013 at 3:13 am

  2. I took the bus to the grocery store just once here, because I had so many bottles (collected over many months and a few parties) that I couldn’t reasonably carry them all the way there on foot. I have never gotten so many nasty looks from old ladies!

    Sam

    February 5, 2013 at 3:51 pm


Leave a Reply

