Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The miracle pedicure

with 12 comments

This is not a sponsored post.

One of the small drawbacks about living in a sunny climate is that you always have to have hair-free legs and beautiful toenails. Everyone in Dubai always has perfect pedicures – along with sunglasses, handbag, smart phone, diamonds and four-wheel-drive, they’re part of the package.

Feet aside, it's always nice to visit the lovely Royal Mirage

Feet aside, it’s always nice to visit the lovely Royal Mirage

 

But this upkeep takes its toll on the nails, which barely ever see the light of day. Admittedly I’m one of the freaks who let their nails “breathe” for a week between pedicures – but that walk of shame into school with no toenail polish on? I can’t tell you how embarrassing it is as the other mums look down at my feet and vomit a little inside their mouths.

Anyway, I’ll get to my point: After so many years of so much polish, there comes a point when the feet need more than a spit and a wipe at Tips & Toes: They need a miracle.

And, for me, this comes in the form of The Bastian Gonzalez Pedicure. It’s more of a podiatric appointment in a luxurious spa surrounding than it is a pedicure per se. I last had one nine years ago – pre-children, when my only issue with my feet was a few callouses from dashing about in heels 16-hours a day. After the treatment, I didn’t need nail polish for six months, my nails looked so good.

So off I trotted to the One&Only Royal Mirage – the closest place to home that offers it – where I was asked to fill out my details on an iPad. All well and good until the spell-check registered my family name as “Elephant” (I thought I’d let it pass) and then I had to face the ignominy of poking the age box for 40-45. Ouch.

Still, those two challenges aside, the pedicure is great. You lie back on a dentist’s type chair while the therapist (trained by podiatrist Bastien Gonzalez of course) grinds the top layer off discoloured nails with a nail drill that bears an uncanny resemblance to a dentist’s drill (perhaps it is a dentist’s drill). She also uses the drill to remove any dead skin from around and under the nails. Despite sounding alarming, it doesn’t hurt at all. It took 40 minutes to get mine to a state with which the therapist was happy.

When the nails are once more pink as nature intended, they’re scrubbed, moisturised and buffed till they shine (I believe diamonds are involved), then any dead skin, hard skin and callouses are removed from the soles with what look like a potato peeler and a scalpel. Finally, the feet are buffed smooth with another electric drill thing; it’s more tickle than pain.

The treatment ends with a blissful foot massage, for which the lights are dimmed and the alpha brain waves come rolling in. The result? Beautiful, natural feet I’m no longer embarrassed to show on the school run – and an SMS to DH from the bank, noting a debit of AED 450 from the supplementary card. O_O

It’s worth it if you need a miracle.

This is not a sponsored post.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I need this ASAP!!! Thanks for sharing

    charlie

    January 31, 2013 at 6:02 pm

  2. Mmmm….. Sounds interesting. I’m not sure if I would like all that drilling on my feet though. I’m a bit squeamish like that! 😀

    Ellie at Emerald Pie

    February 1, 2013 at 2:51 am

    • Honestly, it actually feels ok. You barely feel anything. Xox

      Mrs Dubai

      February 2, 2013 at 9:03 pm

  3. Oh how timely this post is! Singapore sounds a lot like Dubai when it comes to the perfectly manicured. And my toe nails are also suffering for it!

    Diana Mahmoud

    February 1, 2013 at 8:42 am

  4. Oh I am so pleased you did this post, I had one of those pedicures years ago and remember it being utterly incredible, how did I forget about it? Thanks so much, I will book one soon.

    TJP

    February 1, 2013 at 10:01 am

  5. This sounds fabulous – I wonder where the nearest one to me is? 🙂

  6. Stop it! It reminds me of my times at the Nail Spa at Mercato Mall!
    I NEED to move back – not only is it completely unnecessary to have extensive pedi stuff done in Northern Europe, cos when do you really see those nails in public here – ah wait… there are like 3 days when you don’t need a sweater and boots in August, how could I forget – it also costs you an arm and a leg. Just a normal pedi…
    I would love that treatment *sigh*

    Simone**

    Simone

    February 1, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    • Aw, Simone…. Can you not get one where you are anyway? Xox

      Mrs Dubai

      February 2, 2013 at 9:04 pm

  7. Hello to all of you.
    I am part of the Bastien’s team in Dubai and i am really pleased to read these lovely comments.
    I will be more than pleased to welcome you for a treatment and will make sure that we will do a special thing for you. 😉
    Kindest regards
    Maxime

    maxime

    March 5, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    • You are too kind. The good write-up was well deserved 🙂

      mrsdubai

      March 6, 2013 at 9:37 pm


Leave a Reply

