Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Confessions of a beauty junkie – 2013

with 5 comments

This morning my mum sent me a list of “harmful beauty treatments”.  “Don’t do any of these things,” she warned. As if I would try out random beauty treatments [sniggers into her tea].

Just out of interest, the “harmful beauty treatments” were:

  • ·         Keratin hair-straightening systems (I’ve been thinking about it but haven’t yet)
  • ·         Black-market butt injections (Really, mum? You really think I would?)
  • ·         Tanning beds (I love the sun far too much to ever try this)
  • ·         Fish spa pedicures (I have been tempted… probably still would…)
  • ·         Bikini waxes (you can’t live in Dubai and not do these)

But, jokes aside, regular readers will know that I’m a bit of a beauty junkie (DH would prefer the word “mug”). I’ll try anything remotely plausible in the quest to slow down the aging process. It’s not that I’m scared of wrinkles – I think they’re kind of inevitable (unless you go for a 1990s-style wind-tunnel facelift) – but certain things about getting older do bother me: Lack of radiance, hollowness in the face, sunken bags under the eyes, thinning hair and looking knackered all the time.

Yet I’m determined not to go the route of many Dubai mums by putting a cosmetic surgeon on speed-dial – not yet, anyway. There’s a lot you can do without surgery. Here are the things I’ll be trying out in 2013:

Snoxin Serum marketed as “the most concentrated multi-peptide treatment for the look of lines and wrinkles”, this serum is amazing. I started using it about 10 days ago and I think I can see a difference already (well, I could till I started having to get up at 6am again – maybe it was just the sleep). No idea if you can buy it here – I got mine in Boots in the UK.

Nanoblur – From the makers of Snoxin, this is genius in a tube. Smear a little onto problem areas such as lines and under-eye bags and, within 40 seconds, it gives you an air-brushed appearance, hiding all imperfections and making you look 10 years younger. Really. It’s unbelievable, though you’re supposed to put it on over makeup and I’ve yet to figure out how to put it over under-eye concealer without making the concealer go gungy (any ideas?).

“The O” hot rollers – See yesterday’s blog. Volume, body and bounce in my hair? Every day? Yes please!

PRP aka the “vampire” facial – [Mum, look away now] Okay, it’s as yucky as the nickname suggests, but I hope it’s going to yield great results. A little blood is taken from your arm (ick-yick!). The blood’s then centrifuged to separate the blood cells from the platelet-rich plasma (PRP). The plasma is then re-injected into your face in scores of micro-injections. It stimulates collagen formation, repair and growth in your skin’s cells, making you look young and radiant again. Does it work? Reviews seem good and results are said to last a year, but I’ll let you know when I’ve done it… ouch.

Written by mrsdubai

January 9, 2013 at 5:35 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hee Hee! Is the Vampire Facial available here???? Would be more willing to try that than Botox!

    Dubai Mum

    January 9, 2013 at 5:46 pm

  2. Yes it is! I will do mine at Cocoona… it’s called the PRP facial. http://www.cocoona.ae/ xox

    mrsdubai

    January 9, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    • Oh – please don’t! It might turn you into a bat(ty old hag!).

      Kate

      January 10, 2013 at 2:59 am

  3. Have to say, had a fish pedi in Spain and did wonder just how “clean” that whole process was?

    • I think there are many unanswered questions about the hygiene of these – but most people are okay, aren’t they?

      mrsdubai

      January 10, 2013 at 5:42 pm


Leave a Reply

