Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

DH and the heated hair-rollers

with 4 comments

DH and I generally get along very, very well. We understand that we’re different people and we respect that. It makes for a very peaceful home. But there are times when I do forget that he’s not naturally inclined to understand my excitement about certain things. Handbags and beauty products, for example. Hair colours. Shoes. Recipes for dinner, even.

And he has to understand that showing me a picture of the latest Jaguar F-Type is never going to get more discussion from me than a cursory “Oh. Nice (no, you’re not buying it).”

So I was surprised last night when he noticed my new set of Cloud Nine hot rollers, which I’d left sitting on the bed in their carrycase.

The hot roller heating pod ("What do you do with it?") and the carry case containing rollers, heating pod, clips and spray. "Spray?" asked DH. "Yes" Spray comes with it!" I squeaked.

The hot roller heating pod (“What do you do with it?”) and the carry case containing rollers, heating pod, clips and spray. “Spray?” asked DH. “Yes! They come with spray!” I squeaked.

“What’s that on the bed?” he asked, when he came down for dinner.

“Hot rollers,” I said. (DH might have remembered that I’d mentioned I’d like a set for Christmas and he’d said, “Can you just buy them yourself?” – so I did).

There was a pause.

“What do you do with it?” he asked. “Put your head in it?”

I looked at him, surprised. “Did you open it?”

“Yes,” he said sheepishly. “I wanted to see what it was. So, you plug it in – and then what?”

“You pop a roller in and, after four seconds, it comes out at 130C!” I said. Honestly, I’m very excited by my new purchase.

“And burns your hand?” he asked.

“No. That’s the amazing thing. The rollers heat up from the inside so the outside stays cool. And you put them in one at a time so you don’t have to heat up the whole set. Unlike other brands, where you have to heat up 20 rollers to use just two.”

(By the way, this is the longest conversation we’d ever had about a woman’s beauty product – I was beginning to wonder if I’d gone too far. TMI and all that.)

“Oh my,” he said, completely unexcited. “But what’s it for? Why do you need them?”

“Body?” I said. “Volume? Bounce…  [I knew I’d lost him at that point]… or maybe even curls?”

One eyebrow rose, but it was his silence that said it all.

Written by mrsdubai

January 8, 2013 at 8:15 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] O” hot rollers – See yesterday’s blog. Volume, body and bounce in my hair? Every day? Yes […]

  2. Hi,

    do you have a review on these?

    Thanks,
    M

    Marina Rabei

    May 11, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    • Well… I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t used them as much as I thought I would. I think they’re great, but my hair – at chin length – is possibly a bit on the short side for them. They do give body in about three minutes. Whether there would be a cheaper set that did the same thing, I’ve no idea.

      mrsdubai

      May 13, 2013 at 6:22 pm

  3. I believe what you posted made a ton of sense.
    But, what about this? suppose you wrote a catchier title?
    I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t good., however
    what if you added a headline to maybe get people’s attention? I mean DH and the heated hair-rollers | Dubai’s
    Desperate Housewife is kinda vanilla. You might
    glance at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create article titles to grab people to click. You might add a video or a picture or two to get people interested about what you’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it would bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

    Thanh

    July 26, 2013 at 3:48 pm


Leave a Reply

