Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Back to school

with one comment

The children went back to school today, after what felt like 10 weeks off. And, having dreamt about all the things I was going to do once they went back to school, I dreamed last night that the alarm went off in the middle of the night.

As it turned out, it did. I was woken by DH shaking me. “Darling! Darling!” he said. “Your alarm!” 

"Bye darlings! Miss you! Mwa!"

“Bye darlings! Miss you! Mwa!”

 

And, heavens, he was right. Much as I’d been looking forward to the start of the new term, it was cold, it was dark and, worse luck, it was time to get up.

“This is it till April,” I said cheerily to DH (he needn’t know that my eyes were still cemented shut at the time). “But at least it’ll start to get lighter soon.”

“And hotter,” he said. Oh yes: The joys of our bed at 6am.

Anyway, despite my happiness at getting the kids back under the care of their headmaster rather than having them bankrupt me in Kidzania every day, it seemed so wrong to get up at six given that we’ve spent the entire school holidays training DS to stay asleep or, if not to stay asleep, to stay in his room until 7am – with some success, I’m proud to say.

And today, for the first time ever, I had to wake the little monkey from a deep sleep before dawn. Poor boy.

But I got over it as soon as I waved them off at 7.10 this morning – and I know I wasn’t the only one. You should have seen the scenes in Spinneys as mums skipped about buying slimline tonic and Cheddars without children hanging off their clothes. Me, I was practically dancing by the bananas despite the early wake-up. Happy spring term kiddies!

Written by mrsdubai

January 7, 2013 at 6:11 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. just loved this blog and how true too! did make me chuckle!

    Nicola Heath

    January 10, 2013 at 9:36 pm


Leave a Reply

