Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The war of the pressure cooker

with 10 comments

My mother-in-law thinks I should own a pressure cooker. With memories of seeing my dinner splattered all over the kitchen ceiling (nice one, mum) when I was growing up, I don’t agree.

After eight years, I think MIL and I have finally "buried" the pressure cooker!

After eight years, I think MIL and I have finally “buried” the pressure cooker!

 

I don’t need it. I’ll never use it, and I haven’t got cupboard space for it.

The war of the pressure cooker started nearly eight years ago, when DD was born.

“To make the baby food, you need a pressure cooker,” said MIL. “It’s much quicker.”

I didn’t like to admit that, with a full-time job, a new baby and no house-help, I was buying in the baby food, not “making” it. DD, weaned on Organix, practically vomited if she saw as much as a natural puréed carrot.

Still, MIL dragged me off to Géant and showed me the pressure cookers. She meant well. I said no. She put one in the trolley. I took it out. She put it back in. I took it out at the till and, ding-ding, round one to Mrs Dubai.

I may have won a battle, but the war continued over the years. Knowing she’d never again get me into the saucepan aisle of Géant, MIL started bringing a brand-new pressure cooker to our house in her luggage every time she visited.

“It’s for you,” she’s say. “I’ll leave it here for you.”

“Thank you so much,” I’d respond, “but no. I’ll never use it. Why don’t you give it to one of my SILs?” And I’d make sure it was packed in her bags, onwards to wherever she was next flying.

Five years later we were able to joke about it; if FIL wanted to stir things up, he’d ask with the innocence of a child, “Have you got a pressure cooker yet?” then run for cover. But now, with DD seven and DS three, I thought I’d won the war.

Until this visit just gone.

MIL unpacked her myriad bags and then, there it was, on the counter: Yet another brand-new shiny pressure cooker.

“It’s for you,” she said. “You can use it to make dhal.”

“I don’t need it to make dhal,” I said. “I don’t mind boiling the lentils.”

“But it takes just 10 minutes in the pressure cooker,” she said.

“It only takes 15 minutes in the saucepan,” I countered.

“Seven minutes in the pressure cooker,” she said.

“Thirteen in the saucepan,” I haggled.

And then I thought: This is ridiculous. We’ve been arguing over this damn pressure cooker for the past eight years. She clearly thinks it’s great. I’m never going to use it, but is it worth the hassle?

“Tell you what,” I said generously (it is Christmas, after all). “If you want me to have a pressure cooker here so you can use it when you come, I’ll keep it here. I’ll wrap it and keep it in the storage room. You can get it out when you come.”

A huge smile broke over her face.

“Okay,” she nodded. She looked so happy. And you know what happened next? She took the damn thing home with her.

Written by mrsdubai

December 19, 2012 at 8:48 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was given one by my aunt as a wedding present. I used it for a while as a pressure cooker, then the weight thing broke and now I just us it as a large heavyweight saucepan 🙂

    Nicola

    December 19, 2012 at 10:53 pm

  2. that is hilarious! Work colleagues want to know why I’m laughing! All the kids are coming in this afternoon – gonna be chaos!

    Circles in the Sand

    December 20, 2012 at 10:54 am

  3. ..but even better (and I don’t mean to make you jealous), a huge tray of Patchi chocolates has just been delivered!! Let’s do drinks again in the new year…

    Circles in the Sand

    December 20, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    • Definitely! Save some Patchis for me (or actually, better not!) xox

      mrsdubai

      December 23, 2012 at 6:04 pm

  4. Thank you for this fabulous post. Last night when I was in a b*mmer of a mood, I read this before I went to bed. It made me chuckle out loud! Loving the MIL stories. You deserve a medal!

    Dubai Mum

    December 20, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • I’m so happy to have made you laugh. Have a great Christmas! xox

      mrsdubai

      December 23, 2012 at 6:05 pm

      • Apologies Mrs Dubai….I have only just discovered the ‘bubble’ at the top of the admin page……I didn’t receive this comment by email…..not sure why! Love your blog. Missed you when you were on hols last week! Sounds like you had a nice time in Langkawi. My lasting memory of Langkawi…..Got married. Had spent 4 months up to the wedding date visiting Tony & Guy in London. My hair looked fab; great condition, cut and colour. 4 months after my marriage, we moved to HK and took a trip to Langkawi. So in need of hair attention by this point, I thought the salon in an overpriced hotel would be fine…..NO….WRONG……’stylist’ grabbed my thick Irish locks in one hand and persisted in cutting in one fell swoop. I shouted at the ‘stylist’ and told her to stop…..left the salon in tears. Even DH undrestood my pain…….however, loved Langkawi and would go back in a heartbeat…..

        Dubai Mum

        February 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    • Ha, no worries.Langkawi was brilliant, but the hairdressers sound like the ones in Dubai!!! xox

      mrsdubai

      February 27, 2013 at 6:15 pm

  5. HAH! My MIL has given me a vacuum 2 years in a row for Christmas. And randomly brought me a gift of a broom and dust pan this spring. 🙂 How’s that for passive aggressive?!

    birminghambell

    December 29, 2012 at 7:48 am


Leave a Reply

