Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The boy haircut

with one comment

I’m a girl-mum. It’s not surprising since I had a girl first. Ever since my first pregnancy, all I knew was “girl”; everything was pink and purple, Angelina Ballerina, hairclips, dollies, prams, colouring, fairy wings, shoes and handbags.

But now, even though I have a boy, I’m still a girl-mum. I just “get” girls better – I get the hairstyles; I get the twirly dresses, the jewellery, the stationery, the high heels – I even get the emotional complexity (but ask me again when she’s 15).

Sorry darling.... I just don't get boys' hair!

Sorry darling…. I just don’t get boys’ hair!

 

Initially I thought I’d never get used to “boy”, but, generally, I am getting there. He’s a simpler creature; his emotions are black and white; his needs more basic (hungry / tired / needs a hug is about it).

But I still get caught out when I have to take DS to the hairdresser. When it’s DD’s turn, we’ve looked at hairstyles online. We discuss her hair type, the care routine and the products. We know exactly what we want and we give the hairdresser precise instructions. But my first trip to the barber for DS’s haircut caught me short.

“How you want it?” asked the (rather cute) young Lebanese chap.

“Um. Cut?” I asked.

His eyebrows rose.

I tried again: “Shorter?”

It hadn’t even occurred to me that there were “styles” for boys. That there might be a decision involved at the barber’s.

And even now we’re a good two years and plenty of haircuts down the line, I still get taken aback when the (flirty Syrian) stylist asks what I want.

“Shorter at the back,” I say, imagining Hugh Grant in Notting Hill, “and a bit longer on top?”

“And the sides?” he asks.

“Cut?” I suggest.

“Clipper or scissors?” he asks.

And, really, at that point, I’m like “Can I just sit down while you make his hair shorter? However you see fit? Seriously, do you have any sparkly pink hairclips that DD and I can look at?”

Written by mrsdubai

December 11, 2012 at 7:14 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hahahaha! Love it! I am clueless x2!!!

    Circles in the Sand

    December 11, 2012 at 7:28 pm


Leave a Reply

