Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Brazilian “Secret Envy” pants – who knew?

with 6 comments

I don’t know how I’ve got through life so far without hearing about Brazilian “Secret Envy” pants. Perhaps it’s because I’ve always focused on losing weight off my bum, British-style, rather than stashing junk in my trunk, Brazilian-style. 

However, since passing 40, I’ve noticed a trend in the opposite direction – my bottom, which was once quite rounded, is getting flatter (the “l” is quite important in that word).

And getting flatter is not good. My daily lament to DH has gone from “does my bum look big in this?” to “where’s my bum gone?”

And it’s not just me: In the paper today, a top Dubai-based cosmetic surgeon said bum implants had overtaken boob jobs in terms of popularity in Dubai. To be honest, though, while I’ve noticed a flattening of the area, I don’t care enough to get implants in my bum cheeks (did you all see that story last week about the woman whose bum implants shifted?).

But it was with some interest that I saw an ad for these Brazilian “Secret Envy” pants. Key selling points include “preformed, contoured microfiber that highlights the contour of a woman’s bottom in a very natural way,” and “central sewing to maintain the shape of the buttocks.” Apparently they’ll add avaluable extra inch to one’s bottom contour.

Seriously.

Well… DH was wondering what to get me for Christmas…

Note the central "bum" seam. Nice.

Note the central “bum” seam. Nice.

Written by mrsdubai

December 4, 2012 at 7:42 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wish my bum was shrinking, still a long way to go.
    Happy to make a donation!!
    Saw those pants or similar ones at Harvey Nichols the other day………..if you’d like to give it a try 🙂

    Camille

    December 4, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    • I just might have to go and have a look. Poor DH, though – gets me undressed and he finds a Wonderbra and Brazilian pants. Talk about Trades Desrciption Act!! 🙂

      mrsdubai

      December 4, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    • Thanks Camille – Xmas pressie sorted out…!!!

      DH

      December 6, 2012 at 10:44 am

  2. I’m with Camille on this one sadly. Congratulations on your expat blog award!

    Diana Mahmoud

    December 5, 2012 at 4:32 am

    • Thank you so much! Very chuffed about that. COuldn’t have got it without all you lovely people taking the time to read the blog, so thank you. xox

      mrsdubai

      December 5, 2012 at 7:51 pm

  3. Too funny! I realized that in Mexico, too, bigger butts are considered sexy. There are a lot of commercials for body shaping undergarments, and while apparently everybody wants to have a flatter tummy, they all want to add some volume to their boobs and their butts. Now I finally understand where JLo is coming from…

    Kristin

    December 6, 2012 at 3:18 am


Leave a comment