Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

On retiring in Mauritius… one day

with 5 comments

If you’ve read my blog for some time, you might be aware that I dream about retiring to Mauritius. Deep blue sea, tropical climate, heavy rain, hot sun, bright flowers, lush vegetation, white sand, far away from England. And those Mauritian curries go down a treat.

To be honest, if I fast-forward 20 years, I see DH and I in a villa on or very close to the beach in Mauritius, him pottering about retired, me sitting on the colonial-style, wooden veranda, drinking gin and bashing out bestsellers (because it’s such a passion I simply can’t stop – and because they’re so successful that my publisher keeps throwing money at me).

Every now and then I look at breathtaking, contemporary properties like Anahita and Villas Valriche – truly, these places are imprinted on my soul – and I wonder if we should be buying there now to prepare for our future.

And then yesterday DH casually sent me an email about an “investment opportunity” in Mauritius. It’s a ramshackle looking development, in the forest 600 metres above the sea. It consists of a “Bali-style”, single-storey villa; a gym; a “kiosk”; a restaurant that’s (somehow) hosted dignitaries such as Prince Edward, Jacques Chirac and Robert de Niro; two “pergolas” (one Creole-style); and an Eco-Museum (not including “items” – the mind boggles at what I could exhibit in it); and a driver’s room.

I don’t know what it is about this ramshackle little villa, but it captured my heart

That’s it! I thought. It’s got our names written on it in tropical flowers. We could make a business of it. I know it looks run-down, difficult and expensive to run, but there’s something about that ramshackle little villa that resonates in my heart… watch out, DH, watch out!

Written by mrsdubai

November 21, 2012 at 8:17 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As long as it has a guest room for me you have my approval. Put it on your vision board (care of the secret) and let me know what happens xx

    Milliemoo

    November 22, 2012 at 5:56 am

  2. I want your villa

    mita56

    November 22, 2012 at 10:17 am

  3. Hello Dubai’s desperate housewife 🙂

    I must say that I have love reading your articles for the past minutes. I was in Dubai for a very short visit in 2011 and I absolutely enjoyed it, Though being still under the 30’s, I never thought about moving to some other country but things changed when I landed in Dubai. Someday, hopefully, I can move in there to work for some time.

    And when I fell on this article on Mauritius, my island, I said that I must absolutely leave a comment to let you know that you got a Mauritian reader now!

    If you are really coming here someday, just keep in touch!
    Cheers.

    ps: You can have a look at my blog too : http://www.yashvinblogs.com/

    Yashvin

    June 24, 2013 at 3:14 pm


Leave a Reply

