Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The overnight school trip

with 4 comments

It seems like yesterday that DD went on her first ever school trip in a school bus (aged three) – and I followed the bus down Sheikh Zayed Rd to make sure she got there safely. Thankfully, I’ve since managed to stop worrying and grow a little faith that DD will arrive safely back from school trips full of the joys of the supermarket / the underwater zoo / Kidzania / the theatre.

Bye kids – happy camping!

 

But now she’s in Year 3, we have a whole new ball game to deal with. No longer are we talking about 20 minutes on a bus, a couple of hours at a venue, a junior pizza and back to school. Oh no, in Year 3 we have the horror that is the overnight desert camping trip.

The kit list arrived the other day. It included a lot of items marked as “will get wet” and even requested a pair of Crocs “at night” (?) alongside the sleeping bag and torch.

If I thought that was scary, the next thing to arrive was the disclaimer.

It would seem that I have to agree for my seven-year-old daughter, who likes nothing more than putting on a pair of high-heeled boots, painting her nails and pretending to be either Carly Rae Jepson or a Y3 form teacher, to participate in “kayaking, canoeing, raft-building, white-water rafting, golf surfing (I am guessing that’s a punctuation fail), high ropes course, abseiling, rock-climbing, zip wire, volleyball, football, rugby, sand-boarding…. banana boat (in the desert?), houseboat (?), archery (has anyone else read We Need to Talk About Kevin?), journeying in coaches, journeying in 4×4 vehicles, hiking in wadis, mountains, deserts, roads…”

It continues: “I authorise medical treatment for my child including anaesthesia, injection, surgery…”

DH read it, too. And, while he didn’t say anything, I saw his eyes slide to the cupboard where our camping gear’s kept.

And I know what he was thinking: He was thinking that we – we, who haven’t camped for 10 years – might just happen to have a camping trip scheduled that weekend. Suspiciously close to DD’s camp site.

But the real question is: Who’s going to be first to suggest it – him or me?

Written by mrsdubai

November 19, 2012 at 7:09 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. PMSL. I know exactly how you feel. I didn’t sleep a wink the first night my son went on a cub trip & was totally relieved on day 2 when he asked to be collected. Now almost 10, he is soon to go off for nearly a week. Believe it or not, they do survive these trips and I’m planning some great nights out 🙂

  2. As a mom, I would feel nervous about it too, but I myself was 8 and a half when I went to boarding school. I was there for 7 years. My older sister was there for 9. My hubby went to boarding school when he was 7 and my father when he was 5. Seems heartless, doesn’t it. But what a whale of a time we used to have, and how it’s helped me in so many situations over the years. I’d love to send my daughter to my old school too, although now that i am a mom, I hesitate about the age at which I would send her. Definitely older than I was.

    shalini

    November 19, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    • Interesting, Shalini. I have DD down for boarding school at 13 (can defer to 16 if necessary) so I guess it’s time she toughens up!

      mrsdubai

      November 26, 2012 at 9:06 pm

  3. Oh man WNTTAK is my all time favorite book: and my kids will NOT participate in archery!

    Marianne

    October 23, 2013 at 4:51 am


Leave a Reply

