Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The worst bits about being a mum

with 9 comments

I can honestly put my hand on my heart and say becoming a mum has been the best thing I’ve ever done – and don’t get me wrong, a lot of thought went into the decision to procreate. Until I was 33, I’d happily have boxed up the world’s children and packed them off into outer space.

Now, of course, I can’t imagine life without my little monsters. They are, without doubt, the best thing that’s ever happened to me. But that doesn’t mean motherhood is a garden of roses and that there aren’t times we’d all happily sell our kids on eBay (for me, that time is usually at 6.15am when they’re refusing to get up, eat breakfast and get dressed). So, for those of you who think motherhood is a walk in the park, here are the worst bits of being a mum:

Fact: If you send your child to school with this for lunch, you can never be my friend.

          Shouting at the kids to eat their breakfast on a school morning (it’s not rocket science is it? Up, dressed, breakfast, teeth, school… day after day until you’re 18, get used to it!).

          That sinking feeling when you realise you forgot to send a child in with the correct PE kit / swimming kit / guitar / packed snack for the school trip.

          That even more sinking feeling when you realise, as you sit down with a cup of tea, that you actually need to be at the school gate NOW. Facepalm.

          Breast-feeding. Yes, really.

          Finding a nice mummy friend and then realising she’s “that” mum whose kids have organic, homemade Bento boxes for lunch every day.

          That thing where you plan your first really indulgent day of leisure in five years only to have a child fall sick so you have to cancel the lot (and you know you’ll never reschedule it, not till they’re at university).

          Being up all night with a sick child only to have to get out of bed at 6am to get the other child off to school.

          Homework. I mean, really, I left school over 20 years ago!

          Other mums. What a frickin’ nightmare they can be. What happened to sisterhood, ladies?

          Lack of sleep. it’s aging me faster than the Sauvignon Blanc and, trust me, I’m trying hard with that.

Happy parenting!!

Written by mrsdubai

November 12, 2012 at 5:58 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You sound like my kinda Mum! Seriously, did someone send their child to school with that lunch? I am not sure if I am envious or think this Mum has waaay too much time on her hands……

    Siobhan

    November 12, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    • Yes! Competitive bento boxes are a big thing in Japan!

      mrsdubai

      November 13, 2012 at 8:14 pm

  2. Brillian, love the sauv blanc bit! So true its scary! But yeah, love the little devils, esp when they are asleep 😉

    Milliemoo

    November 12, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    • That’s the best bit, isn’t it! I love them so much when they’re sleeping 🙂

      mrsdubai

      November 13, 2012 at 8:17 pm

  3. You are blessed. Speaking from experience it could be much, much worse.

    ThatOtherGuy

    November 12, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    • That’s so true. I do appreciate how lovely my children really are. 🙂

      mrsdubai

      November 13, 2012 at 8:15 pm

  4. Parenthood ey.
    btw: I nearly well died when I saw the photo on “reader” and thought you had made that lunch (not judging). Relived you didn´t! /Louisa

    Bestof2sisters

    November 13, 2012 at 1:56 am

  5. love love LOVE this post! i am scared of having baby, then leaving it outside a shop[ and forgetting about it.

    Britney of Arabia

    November 13, 2012 at 11:18 am

    • Many times, Britney, I have turned to look at the back seat of the car as I have no idea how many children, if any, should be in there and whether, if there’s none, there should be any. :p

      mrsdubai

      November 13, 2012 at 8:16 pm


Leave a Reply

