Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

My day on a plate

with 6 comments

Pete Evans, “chef” and Weight Watchers ambassador, has been making waves this week since he published “My Day on a Plate” which involved the “activated almonds” that have since gone viral.

There’s healthy and then there’s ….. hmmm….!

So I thought I’d do you my day on a plate. I promise: No emu meatballs.

6.20am – Mug of coffee. Kenyan or Columbian drip (I’m up earlier than you, Mr Healthy!)

7.15am – Wheatgrass shot (before bike ride).

8am – Three Ryvitas with Manuka honey; small glass of orange juice (usually it’s plain yoghurt with fresh fruit and milled walnuts, flax seeds and something else ridiculously healthy but I’m out of yoghurt – shame).

9am – Cup of Ethiopian drip coffee (more fruity, less bitter than the other two).

12pm – Plate of Ikea vegetarian eggplant moussaka with mixed veg, plus strange Swedish looking cake called a “Mazarin Por” (no idea, but it had white icing and I’m a sucker for a bit of icing). Clearly I was at Ikea, I did not drive there specially. Honestly. (But, costing a total of Dhs 14 it has to be one of Dubai’s best value lunches EVER!)

3.30pm – Cup of tea.

5pm – Glass of Sauvignon Blanc and bag of Wotsits (glamour not, but I have told you before, I am not a foodie).

8.30pm – One mini veggie spring roll while waiting for…

9pm – Pint of Heineken and a halloumi cheese and rocket pita-bread wrap, with a handful of done-to-death fries (I suspect left over from lunchtime and re-fried, but then I am a cynic). Not the world’s best supper, but I was with Circles in the Sand and Where’s My Ruby Slippers (who isn’t as miserable as she sounds), which by far made up for the crummy nosh.

That is all.

PS Can anyone tell me what’s an activated almond?

Written by mrsdubai

November 7, 2012 at 8:45 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This has been big for the last few days here in Aus, with lots of really funny responses to it. They are aparently almonds which have been allowed to germinate and sprout. Not sure how they do it though.

    Max_in_Sydney

    November 8, 2012 at 12:42 am

  2. Activated almonds are just soaked almonds I think… What the hell is a “homemade coconut”? Did he grow the coconut? Did he MAKE the coconut?

    Savannah

    November 8, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    • I think it’s the muffin thats home-made. Mind you, nothing would surprise me with this chap!

      mrsdubai

      November 11, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  3. what is an activated almond? would one go well with a twirl, curly wurly and glass of vino?!

    Britney of Arabia

    November 13, 2012 at 11:20 am

    • Activated almonds actually delicious, you can prepare them at home. Raw almonds dried in the oven over 12 to 24 hours on very low heat. Nice and crunchy and super healthy.

      Palina Antonava

      October 9, 2014 at 7:33 am


Leave a Reply

