Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Hallowe’en in Dubai

with one comment

There is one night a year in Dubai when Dubai stops being Dubai and becomes a suburb of the great US of A.

And that night is Hallowe’en.

I didn’t grow up with trick or treating in the UK. As far as I know, that game was only for suicidal kids who wanted to be abused by grumpy old farts in big houses (a bit like carols-singers).

But in Dubai, it is a Big Thing.

And nowhere in Dubai is it bigger than in my compound, where people take it Very Seriously Indeed. Last night, out with 3YO DS and 7YO DD, we faced things so scary that I had nightmares last night.

And, to be honest, I have to say I disagree with the whole thing. On the one hand, I’m telling DD, “Don’t speak to strangers and never accept sweets from them” then, two hours later, I’m shoving her up some stranger’s garden path saying, “It’s fine, ask the man in the weird suit for sweets.”

Uh.  Hallowe’en? Next year I think I’ll be “washing my hair”.

Cute little pumpkins hanging in the tree. Nightmare scale: 0/10

Cute little ghosts, standing in a row. Nightmare scale: 3/10

Creepy skeleton, hanging on a bush. NIghtmare scale: 7/10

Dead body, hanging in a tree. Nightmare scale: 10/10.

Written by mrsdubai

November 1, 2012 at 9:36 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tricky thing this Halloween lark, ey. We missed it this year, but I know my sister took the kids out trick or treating in their neighbourhood, and the kids had a ball. They only went to the houses of neighbours they know well, and who were all in on the game. Seems a good way of doing it?
    /Camilla

    Bestof2sisters

    November 1, 2012 at 9:47 pm


Leave a Reply

