Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

A British autumn

with 5 comments

I’m currently in England, on a little half-term trip with the children. It’s the first time they’ve ever been to the UK outside of the summer and I hadn’t realised that, until yesterday, they had no concept of autumn. Sure, they’ve learned at school that “the leaves turn brown and fall from the trees” but they hadn’t computed that into piles of crispy leaves ripe for kicking through. Oh, the joys.

Autumn in the UK – a first for my children

 

They’ve also nipped down to our local park to feed the ducks and discovered that an autumn duck is a different creature to a plump, well-fed summer duck. Jenson Button has nothing on the speed of those birds when they see my children approaching with half a loaf of 50/50 Kingsmill in their eager little hands (one duck even got half of DS’s banana – talk about survival of the fittest).

Me, I’ve been enjoying the delights of Tesco – I swear, a trip to Tesco without the children is as good as a holiday for me – and I’ve also been really making the most of some wintery gastro pub lunches. Roasted butternut squash and sweet potato chips? Nom-nom.

But I thought you might like some direct quotes from the children about their first autumn in the UK. What do you like most, I asked them.

“That it rains a lot,” said DD.

“The fruit strings,” said DS (Google them.)

And what don’t you like?

“Wet socks,” said DS (well, if you insist on stepping outside before putting on your boots…)

“The main problem with England,” said DD, “is that the toilet seats are too cold.”

Written by mrsdubai

October 23, 2012 at 12:18 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha ha..love that one about the toilet seats:) And Tesco should really consider opening a branch down here in Dubai. I’d be the first person lining up for Cadbury chocolate bars and salt & vinegar crisps:)

    Mitzie Mee

    October 23, 2012 at 8:06 am

    • I just love the huge amount of CHOICE.

      mrsdubai

      October 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    • I was just saying the same thing to my boyfriend recently! Tescos and primarks should definitely open up here! 🙂

      tashsn

      October 28, 2012 at 1:01 am

  2. Happy shopping!

    Africa far and wide

    October 24, 2012 at 3:18 pm

  3. I’ve been missing England so much esp with Halloween just around the corner and Christmas onthe way! This post makes me wanna cry. Sainsbury and asdas..Hope your having a good time hon. 🙂

    tashsn

    October 28, 2012 at 1:00 am


Leave a Reply

