Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Why you should marry someone who makes you laugh

with 6 comments

I write from a miserable place tonight. While DS has always been an early riser, waking between 5am and 6am even on the weekends, the last week in particular has been very, very tough.

How do guys sleep through this stuff anyway? Drives me crazy!

 

DS has taken it upon himself to pop into our room at night for any reason he fancies – he needs a tissue, wants some more water, has a blocked-up nose, is scared of the dark, a dinosaur’s chasing him. And, while DH is blessed with the innate ability to ignore him and sleep on, I’m an insomniac. It’s always quick and easy to settle DS, but waking me up at 3am means I won’t get back to sleep before 4.30am (if I’m lucky).

And then DS has been waking up, for good, around 5.30am (sometimes 5.15am for a treat on a Friday) – and coming in to bother me. Last night, for example, he had me up at 3.50am, 4.10am, 4.50am and then, finally, 5.45am. I didn’t sleep a wink after 3.50am.

So I’m averaging 4 to 5 hours’ sleep a night – and I’m a 10-hour girl. I adore DS (as DH will testify) but I’m starting to dread the sound of his precious little feet plopping across the hallway. It fills my heart with despair, dread and the sort of wild desperation that really belongs on soap operas.

I don’t know what the answer is. I’ve tried threats, shouting and punishments, and I’ve tried treats, cajoling and bribery. I’ve filled his room with toys, books, breakfast and even the iPad, begging him to play until I call him. I’ve tried to train him with the Gro clock (“Mummy? My clock’s broken, it’s still blue.”).

But no: He wakes up and he wants mummy. I’ve explained that mummy’s a better mummy when she’s left to sleep; that a mummy woken too early will be a shouty mummy. I’ve even threatened to sleep in a hotel until he gets used to me not being there.

As I dissolved into helpless tears at 6am this morning, begging DH for ideas on how to cope, my darling husband handled it in his own inimitable way.

“Do you fancy doing the school run this morning?” he asked as I sobbed, hair all over the place in my crappy round-the-house shorts. DH’s mouth twitched upwards into a suppressed smile. “In the fog? … I thought you might like to show off your puffy, crying-face to the other mums?”

His face looked so cheeky I couldn’t help but giggle.

If I tell DD one thing in life, I’ll tell her to marry a man who can make her laugh. It’s the only thing that’s getting me through at the moment.

Written by mrsdubai

October 10, 2012 at 9:33 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. With you on that! My little ones new fave waking hour of 4.30 is killing me too! Thank goodness for my occasionally frustrating, workaholic, hideously sensible, but always amusing husband!!

    wizcake

    October 10, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    • As a father of 5, I’ve seen this more than once. This is not about what it is about. It’s not about the clock or the dinosaur or anything else. Ultimately he’s feeling afraid or unsure of something. He needs reassurance and confidence. You’re going to have to dig a bit to see what is truly bothering him. Neither carrots not sticks will work until you get to the crux of the problem. My 5 year old is doing this now and we’ve only just sorted out the problem. Like all things, this too shall pass.

      ThatOtherGuy

      October 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm

  2. Agree with you about marrying a man who can make you laugh 1000 per cent. It’s the only reason I had quarter of the strength to support Sean through his battle. He always, ALWAYS found the humour in the situation.

    beverleyann

    October 12, 2012 at 6:06 am

  3. I feel your pain!

    Africa far and wide

    October 15, 2012 at 12:52 pm

  4. He just wants mommy and dad security and assurance.
    He might be going through something at school, like bullying or overwhelmed by new classes,teachers.He might be having bad dreams. It is very normal stage of development,

    What you could do,have him sleep in your room for one night ,next time sleep in his room,give any reason,then discuss it with him how no different it is.

    I’m 30 and I would totally sleep in my parents rooms (though I would run the second minute,from all the snoring),the bed would not hold too 😀

    Humans used to live in one room,dwelling, maybe that is the right way.

    Random Dude

    November 15, 2012 at 1:22 am


Leave a Reply

