Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Sleep envy

with 4 comments

One of the things I miss about work, sometimes, is the jollies. In my line of work, there were many invitations to stay in smart hotels, to eat at fancy restaurants, to meet celebrities and to attend fabulous events.

DH’s job doesn’t really offer those types of perks so I was happy for him when he told me he’d been invited to attend an industry event that involved a dinner, an overnight stay and a morning’s work in a lovely hotel.

DH’s bed for the night. Sigh.

 

It’s a hotel in the UAE that I know, but at which I’ve never stayed. It looks lovely, so a little part of me was slightly sad that we wouldn’t be staying together in the gorgeous room, or taking a cheeky midnight dip together in the room’s private plunge pool, but I didn’t really mind.

DH BBM’d me from the hotel when he arrived.

“Room’s gorgeous,” he said. “Lovely pool.”

Sad ass that I am, I then went onto the hotel website and trawled the images to see exactly what his room would be like.

And then I realised I was jealous.

But not of the jolly (there was actually quite a lot of work involved). And not of the hotel room, nor of the big, soft bed. Not even of the private plunge pool and the delicious food that I wouldn’t have had to cook myself.

Oh no. My jealousy was focused absolutely entirely on DH’s ability to have a night’s sleep that wouldn’t end with the patter of bare size 24 feet at 5.30am. Lucky sod.

DH’s boring old terrace with his boring old plunge pool facing the boring old desert….

Written by mrsdubai

October 8, 2012 at 9:12 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We were a lucky bunch weren’t we? I miss my monthly massages.

    beverleyann

    October 9, 2012 at 5:18 am

  2. Ah, I know exactly where your DH is! And, very funny, I just had the same conversation with mine, who leaves for London in about an hour: “Yes, you’re working, but you get to stay in a hotel, sleep for 8 hours uninterrupted, watch what YOU like on TV, go out with the crew…” You get the gist! And, yes, it’s the glorious sleep I was mainly jealous of!!! (though to be fair, there’s always the jet lag, which is no fun). Hope your DH enjoyed the Banyan Tree. 🙂

    Circles in the Sand

    October 9, 2012 at 11:00 am

  3. when we stayed there, in exactly that room type, I counted – there were 66 curtains to draw again in the morning so he’ll have to set the alarm an hour earlier anyway if he wants to let some natural light into the room when he wakes up

    amanda

    October 9, 2012 at 8:41 pm

  4. Gee, what a work perk. Yes, I would be envious too.

    Jean

    October 11, 2012 at 3:29 pm


Leave a Reply

