Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Who “hearts” Justin Bieber?

with 7 comments

If there’s one thing I’d rather do than attend a Justin Bieber concert, it would be to slowly insert drawing pins under my fingernails while listening to Celine Dion sing that Titanic song.

So, when news broke that Bieber was coming to Dubai, I hoped DD wouldn’t find out about it. I did, after all manage to shield her from news that the Jonas Brothers were playing in Abu Dhabi back in Nov 2010. “Oh!” I said innocently when she told me her school friend had been to the concert, “If only I’d known!”

DD (in a terrible outfit, don’t blame me) cuddles up to her cardboard hero. Let’s hope he’s more three-dimensional on May 4

 

Anyway, unfortunately DD is now far too well connected to miss that kind of news. I may not tell her about it, but she listens to Dubai 92 on the school run and she heard the ads herself. Bah humbug, what choice did I have? This is a girl who believes she’s going to be a rock star; a girl who’s already taking classical guitar lessons so she can learn electric guitar; a girl who spends far too much time playing with the “Talking Justin Bieber” app on the iPad (My advice? Don’t go there).

All her friends would be going to the concert.

So I pre-registered my reluctant interest and, when the presale tickets went on sale on Friday, I logged on and snaffled them up. Reluctantly. (Honestly, I think you should get a discount for being reluctant).

So today we were chatting about which of her friends had managed to get tickets and then DD dropped a bombshell.

“I don’t really love him,” she said, casually, as I popped the lasagne in the oven.

“What do you mean?” I tried not to screech, having just dropped the best part of £170 on two tickets to make 2013 a year she’ll still talk about in 2083.

“Well,” she said. “I like his music, and it’d be cool to hear that. But looks-wise? He’s out of my league.”

Out of her league????

DD is clearly – as the spawn of me and the genetically perfect DH – the most beautiful girl in the world. How could the chavtastic-looking Bieber be out of her league?

“What on earth do you mean?” I asked.

“It’s that hair,” she said. “I just couldn’t go out with anyone who had that weird hair thing going on. Uh!”

That’s my girl DD. Remember that when you’re 15.

Written by mrsdubai

September 24, 2012 at 6:13 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ha ha, I’ll remember these things for when my girl reaches that age!

    shalini

    September 24, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    • It’ll come quicker than you think. I still can’t believe I’m taking her to her first pop concert next year! It was yesterday she was a baby!

      mrsdubai

      September 24, 2012 at 8:15 pm

  2. haahhaahahahah! if she fancies a bit of j-lo, she is very welcome to join me!

    Britney of Arabia

    September 25, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    • You’re too kind. She would LOVE to go to J-Lo but no way am I letting her!

      mrsdubai

      September 25, 2012 at 2:49 pm

  3. wise girl! It’s more than just the hair thing! To think he even considered himself good enough to play Christian Grey! BTW: did you photoshop her face out the photo ?

    matshila

    September 25, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    • Hi Mats! Yes, I smudged her face 🙂 Hope all’s well with you xox

      mrsdubai

      September 25, 2012 at 2:48 pm

  4. We’ve been warned to stay clear of the Air Canada Centre when he plays in Toronto at the end of the year. Lest, we want to be run over by a thousands of screaming girls. All the best!

    Table for One

    September 27, 2012 at 5:50 am


Leave a Reply

