Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

What do you do with your Dubizzle money?

with 5 comments

I’ve been doing a lot of selling on Dubizzle (Dubai’s version of eBay) lately. There’s something about September that says spring-cleaning to me – so I’ve been attacking everything from my wardrobe and (beloved) handbag collection to the kids’ toys, old baby gear and furniture, posting anything and everything on Dubizzle.  The idea is to pare our household down to basics – and not replace them.

Roll up! Roll up!

 

And this week I’ve made Dhs 1,715!

Mind you, DH would quibble with the word “made”.

“You haven’t made Dhs 1,715,” he’d tell me. “You’ve recouped Dhs 1,715 from the, no doubt, Dhs 10,000 you spent on the original items.”

Boys, eh?

But I’ve been talking to some of the buyers as well as my friends about this, and the question of what you do with your Dubizzle earnings has started to interest me. Personally, I shove it in my purse and it gets used up in everyday life. If I’m feeling generous, I give DD the money from selling her toys so she can spend it on something new – but other people are far more creative (and I’d actually rather not fill the house up with more crap, sorry, toys).

One friend puts all her Dubizzle earnings in the safe and plans to use it as spending money on next year’s mega-amazing family holiday – I think she has nearly Dhs 15,000 in there so far.

And last night I met a lady who is saving it all up in an envelope and is going to use it to go out for a steak dinner with her husband. What a lovely idea.

Meanwhile, here are my favourite Dubizzle replies of the week:

  1. 1.       “I really like it and I want it, but I can’t be bothered to come and get it. Can you bring it to me as I live a long way from you?” [Umm… no.]
  2. 2.       “Can you send it to me by courier?” [No, I will send  it by private jet.]
  3. 3.       “I know you’re asking Dhs 1,300 but will you take Dhs 600?” [Sigh]

God bless Dubizzle and all who sail in her.

Written by mrsdubai

September 13, 2012 at 6:19 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My sister got reply No 1 to an ad she placed this week. The person asked her “Will you drive 4 hours to my house with it?” and was surprised when she said no!
    People never cease to amaze me!!!

    Ellie at Emerald Pie

    September 14, 2012 at 3:01 am

  2. Hi from dubizzle 🙂 that’s a lovely blog post and some awesome ideas as well, I personally love the one about the steak dinner! I wanted to share one of our favorite dubizzle moments, courtesy of one of our twitter followers: when a buyer came to pay for an item he bought off her, he gave her the money and asked her to carry the item from her house to his car (!!!). That one raised eyebrows all around the office!
    Have a nice week & thanks for being a dubizzler 🙂
    Irina (La macarena de social media)

    Irina (La Macarena)

    September 16, 2012 at 11:04 am

  3. if you are selling any garden furniture or plants, please do email me!!

    Britney of Arabia

    September 18, 2012 at 10:18 am

  4. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!


Leave a Reply

