Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The early-morning wake-up (again… and again…)

with one comment

 

My day started this morning, as it does every morning, with the pitter-patter of three-year-old feet on the landing. Then a thunk as a water cup was plonked on my bedside table, followed by a small elephant clambering over my shins as DS climbed over me into the middle of our bed.

I wish.

In that respect, today was no different to any other day.

Only today, I noticed that, as the little visitor arrived, it was still dark.

4.30am.

“DS! It’s still night-time!” I hissed, trying not to wake DH. You lie still and go to sleep! Or else!”

“Yes, mummy,” he whispered, settling his head on my pillow and hugging his teddy.

Famous.

Last.

Words.

Looking back, I don’t know why I thought a boy who’d woken up at 4.30am was going to go back to sleep when it’s perfectly usual for him sometimes to wake up at 5.15am. But, somehow, optimist that I am, I was hoping that, if he was ensconced in our cosy bed, he might actually sleep till 7am, which would give me enough sleep to make me feel like a new person.

With hindsight, what I should have done is put him straight back into his bed, tie him in it, turn off the monitor and lock his bedroom door.

Then I might have had a chance of tackling the day with some degree of competence instead of driving to the wrong summer school at 9am this morning then getting in a wiggle because I was too tired to figure out how to get back to the right one.

Anyway, as I’ve told DS: One more morning like that and he’s on his own. I’m checking into a hotel. Seriously.

Written by mrsdubai

August 27, 2012 at 7:44 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha ha, that’s exactly what happened this morning at 455am…..Thankfully she fell asleep in a half hour nestled between us in our bed, and then woke up before us again at 7am, and started kissing us to wake us up :-))

    shalini

    September 22, 2012 at 8:10 pm


Leave a Reply

