Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Things you don’t expect to hear your 7-year-old say

with 3 comments

My DD is seven. Today she went to a well-known and well-respected summer camp with her friend. It keeps her busy and stimulated when I have to work, and it’s only till 1.30pm so I don’t beat myself up about it.

Today, as it was the end of the week, all the children did a talent show. DD’s group did a dance to a pop song and I was invited to come in early to watch it.

(Thankfully) I’m guessing DD will never be a can-can dancer

I’m happy (and hardly surprised) to report that DD was clearly the best dancer in the group – let’s face it, she spends much of her spare time making up dance routines to pop songs, so no surprise there.

At the end, though, she was visibly upset. It took me ages to find out why.

“I had to do a somersault,” she said, between sobs and teenage sighs. “And I forgot to wear leggings.”  [She wore a skirt] “Everyone could see my pants.”

Sob.

“Darling, it was over so quickly hardly anyone would have noticed,” I said, secretly thinking how wonderful it is that she already doesn’t want to show her pants in public. “They’d have to have been looking quite closely to’ve seen anything.”

“But there was this boy,” she sobbed. “He was about 12 – and he said he was going to put it on YouTube and Facebook. Now the whole world will see my pants.”

Honestly? I wasn’t expecting that.

Written by mrsdubai

August 16, 2012 at 8:18 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh Lordy! A sign of whats ahead for all our kids I think, idiots with camera phones!

    Ellie at Emerald Pie

    August 17, 2012 at 2:13 am


  2. one of the sweetest posts i've read in a while.

    rawrr

    August 21, 2012 at 4:47 pm


Leave a Reply

