Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The wedding anniversary gift

with 8 comments

When I tell people for how long DH and I have been married, they imagine me to be a lot older than I am. I guess I was just one of the lucky ones who met the love of their life while still a teenager.

Have to say, the resemblance to DH is most uncanny.

 

So tomorrow DH and celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We’ve been “dating” for 21 years.

But let me tell you, the fact that DH has been in my life for over half the time I’ve been alive doesn’t make buying him an anniversary gift any easier. In fact, it was easier when we were a new couple with a limited budget. I knew then what he wanted – and I saved up and bought it.

But now his money is my money is his money – for a start, anything I buy will really be bought with his salary, which kind of takes the edge of it, don’t you think?

And then there’s the issue of what he wants. Nowadays, if he wants something, he thinks about it for a bit, then he buys it. All he really, really wants that he hasn’t yet bought is a 2012 Range Rover Sport and an achingly stylish holiday home on the beach in the tropics. I don’t have to tell you that I won’t be buying either of those in Mirdiff City Centre this evening.

But, as you know, it’s not about the money; it’s about the thought. We’ve both wanted to see the movie The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel since it came out a couple of months ago, and every attempt we’ve made to see it, in the cinema, on DVD or even on the plane, has been thwarted.

So I decided that I would buy DH the DVD – we could get a take-away and watch it on our anniversary, I thought. It’s only a small thing, but I knew it would make him happier than staying in a posh hotel for a night.

That night, DH came home and set up his laptop in the living room.

“I’m downloading Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,” he said as I dished up supper. “I thought we could get a take-away and watch it on our anniversary. What do you think?”

It’s love. That’s what I think.  Happy anniversary DH.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is a match made in heaven – congratulations to both of you. You will LOVE the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel – its funny, poignant without being patronising.

    mita56

    August 9, 2012 at 5:53 pm

  2. God bless you both .. and many many many more years together! Happy anniversary you guys! They say it right when they says, pairs are made in heaven! 🙂

    tashsn

    August 9, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  3. Definitely a match made in heaven! Happy Anniversary to you an your DH!

    matshila

    August 10, 2012 at 10:43 am

  4. ❤ ❤ ❤

    rawrrr

    August 13, 2012 at 10:22 am

  5. Oh! I love it! We’ve had an anniversary in making pizza and watching movies too! 🙂

    PrincessKristy

    August 14, 2012 at 12:09 pm

  6. It’s really another instance of the famous saying: “Weddings are made in heaven and celebrated on earth.”

    Janett

    December 8, 2012 at 5:10 pm


Leave a Reply

