Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

My London shopping list

with 11 comments

I’d love to tell you that I’ve spent the past week stalking London’s swankiest shopping streets, burning up the credit card as I buy my new season’s wardrobe.

Sadly, shopping in London when you have two bored children hanging off your hemline is an entirely different experience to the one about which I dream, so my take-to-Dubai shopping has to be done very quickly. As trying things on is not really an option, I end up buying “other stuff”. Cosmetics feature highly, as you will see. Probably because they’re quick to buy and easy to carry.

Here’s what I’ll be packing for my return:

          L’Oreal Revitalift Laser Renew – serum, moisturiser, eye cream. Trying to wean myself off that ruinous Rodial.

          Rodial – Night cream, cleanser. Just in case the L’Oreal doesn’t work.

          Nanoblur Optical Skin Cream (have you tried this stuff? OMG it’s air-brushing in a tube though, sadly, it wears off after a couple of hours).

          Revlon Just Bitten Lip Balm Stain – A nice mix between gloss and lippie. I can’t wait for it to come to Dubai.

Admit it – you know you want them!!

          Sure deodorant (Cotton). 10 cans. I know Dubai’s Rexona is supposed to be the same stuff, but it’s just not, is it?

          Tea Tree Oil – three bottles. I use it all the time, Superdrug’s one is so much cheaper than buying it in Dubai.

          Fruit Flakes – 25 packs. The children love them. Choitrams stocks them only intermittently.

          Fruit strings – 25. I’ve never seen them in Dubai. The kids love them.

          Mini Jammy Dodgers – Seven snack-packs for kiddie treats.

          Bitsa Wispa – Two bags of tiny little Wispa bars for adult treats. Have you tried them? Ohhhh…..

          BubbleBum car seat A new one since our three-year-old one popped somewhere in Spain. Well, that’s a risk with inflatable car seats, I guess.

          Boden dress – I ordered a whole stack online so I could try them on at leisure at home. Sadly, only one fitted. I’m not even convinced about that one, but feel I should buy it just because it’s the best of the bunch. Still deliberating.

          Clark’s shoes – Not for me, for the children. School shoes x 2; school trainers x 2, measured and fitted.

          M&S school shorts, socks and pants – For the children, obviously.

          Books. Plenty of books. Too many books. I mean, they’re quick to choose and don’t involve trying on. Why wouldn’t you?

          Magazines – Easy Living, Good Housekeeping, Living Etc, Red.

–          A partridge in a pear tree (just kidding).

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can\t believe you can’t get some of this stuff in Dubai. Is it expensive there? 🙂

    SaFire

    July 24, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    • Yes, you can get some of it, but supply is erratic, stocks are old or the prices are high.

      mrsdubai

      July 25, 2012 at 12:35 am

      • PS You can;t get Wispa at all in Dubai. No idea why!

        mrsdubai

        July 25, 2012 at 12:35 am

  2. Do I need to bring a truck to pick you up from the airport??

    DH

    July 24, 2012 at 5:15 pm

  3. Hehe at the previous comment, that one was sweet!

    Looking at your list, I MISS so many of those things too! Jammy dodgers and bitsa wispa and peanut butter cups! I know they are the same ones here but something about the ones in england make u feel good. My head screams : These are the real ones!!
    And weatherspoons! I wish weatherspoons and pret a manger just opened up here.. I don’t think I’ve ever had better sticky toffee pudding than weatherspoons! Oh and EAT. should open up here too! Why doesn’t Dubai have cooler breakfast to go spots! 😦

    Hope you are enjoying! 🙂

    tashsn

    July 24, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    • I am so with you on Pret – Pret would do so well in Dubai. In Arabian Ranches to be precise 🙂

      mrsdubai

      July 25, 2012 at 12:36 am

      • Pret would do great I agree! Can replace the whole Gloria Jeans crappy coffee line with the soups! gosh, somebody needs to start thinking about bringing them hear! 😀

        tashsn

        July 25, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  4. Oh god yes. Pret in Arabian Ranches – that would be a dream come true…and an IHOP (International House of Pancakes) with American staff for breakfast.

    Circles in the Sand

    July 25, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  5. as I packed our cases this morning, wedging packets of fruit strings into shoes and filling the cups of my bra (not the one I’m wearing obviously) with yoghurt raisins, I momentary questioned my sanity – good to know that I am in such esteemed company xx

    amanda

    July 27, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    • I didn’t get time to go back for more fruit strings. I wonder what the value of a fruit string is on the international market !!! Welcome back!

      Mrs Dubai

      July 28, 2012 at 9:14 pm


Leave a Reply

