Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Rant alert: What does a three-day weekend mean to a housewife?

with one comment

DH was like a little kid when he came home from the office last Thursday night.

“Long weekend!” he sighed as he sank into the sofa. “No work till Monday!”

“Yay! No school on Sunday!” yelled the kids, jumping about with glee. “What can we do, mummy? Cinema? Play area? Play dates? Swimming!”

And you know what? If anyone deserves a long weekend, it’s my DH. He routinely puts in an 11-hour day – often a 13-hour day – and didn’t get a day off at all last weekend.  While I know he enjoys his job, I’m still grateful to him for being the main wage-earner.

Weekend? Did anyone say long weekend?

“But,” a small, unentitled voice within me whispered, “what about me? I am quite royally knackered, too, and I would give my back teeth for a long lie-in and a little time ‘off’.”

As the housewife of the family, I’m the one who holds everything together; the one who keeps the cogs turning; the family well-fed; the bills paid; the a/c working; the pool clean; and the house ticking over. I’m the one who gets the flights booked; the suitcases packed; the homework done; the cars serviced; and the social life organised – the one who maintains the rhythm of our happy house – but when do I ever get a three-day weekend?

Actually, come to think about it, when do I get a “weekend” at all?

My working days are 13 hours long, seven days a week, and they’re not spent in an air-conditioned office. They’re spent running from pillar to post in 40+ degrees of heat, soaked in sweat and usually dragging various children with me, wrestling them into car seats, listening to their screams, wiping their tears, adjudicating their fights, toiling over a hot stove to make dinners that are thrown back at me – and trying to be “fun” as well.

And a three-day weekend for me means nothing more than an extra day of the above when, really, the kids should be at school – and I have to get my “other job” done on top of doing all the above.

No wonder I’m so blinkin’ knackered.

Written by mrsdubai

June 18, 2012 at 5:58 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here, here – couldn’t have said it better myself. These men don’t know how lucky they are to go off to work each day!

    citygirlnomore

    June 19, 2012 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

