Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

What-I-spent Wednesday

with 6 comments

My first boss here once told me “In Dubai, it costs money just to stand still and breathe”. Although that was over 12 years ago, when it actually didn’t cost that much to stand still and breathe in Dubai, I think of it often, as I sometimes I feel like I walk around Dubai haemorrhaging money without actually spending it. If you know what I mean.

So here’s what I spent yesterday, without actually going shopping, as such. It’ll be too irritating for you, I think, if I put the conversions in – divide by 5.6 for sterling.

AED 208.95 – Spinneys
Quick dash to pick up bread, milk, cereals, hummus and a random packet of AED 37 hair dye (hoping to save AED 580 at the hairdresser’s).

AED 272.00 – Philippines Overseas Labour Office (POLO)
Sent Gerlie by taxi to get her Exit Certificate for her summer holiday.

AED 370 – School Book Fair
Okay, so DD was supposed to buy only one or two books, but they were all so nice and I try to foster a love of books…. and it was unfair to leave DS out just because he can’t read… and I bought a few for birthday presents as well. Everyone loves a book.

AED 1,890 – School uniform
Isn’t it great the way the schools change the uniform every couple of years so you have to buy a whole new kit? DD needed new shirts, skorts, a tie and blazer as her new Y3 uniform, plus new PE kit as she’s grown. DS needed the full Monty right down to bags, hats and swimming kit as he starts big school in September.

AED 165.50 – Petrol
Okay, I admit, it would have been about £3,000 and a kidney to fill my car in the UK. But still, there it is. The AED 5.50 was for a petrol station cheese roll and a banana for the children as they were “famished” while I was buying the next item…

AED 101 – SALIK tag: Needed a new tag as only 10 per cent of the old one is actually stuck to the windscreen since I had the glass changed two years ago. For two years I’ve been manually holding it up while driving through, as I waited for my account balance to dwindle to nothing because SALIK said they couldn’t transfer the amount (which was at the time AED 300) from one tag to another.

AED 421 – Travel insurance. 30-day, single trip family policy. With all the fannying about we’re going to be doing, I thought better safe than sorry.

AED 300 – Pool maintenance. For fixing the broken pool filter (while failing to fix the broken light).

TOTAL:  AED 3,728.45 (£665) spent in one day without really thinking about it.

It’s actually exactly what I saved by not buying the Jimmy Choo “Kate Middie” sandals. I saw them. I stroked them.  I tried them on. They didn’t fit.

Written by mrsdubai

June 12, 2012 at 8:31 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I must say, that’s a really reasonable travel insurance policy price, especially for expats! Who’s your insurer?

    PrincessKristy

    June 12, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    • It was with RSA. But you can get a much better deal with AXA. Their annual family travel ins policy is just under AED 700. As I found AFTER I’d booked this!!

      mrsdubai

      June 12, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      • WOAH! I pay about 400dhs a year just for me on my summer adventures. That AXA package is awesome. I totally sympathise with the constant spending days. They can be killers and we don’t even have kids!

        PrincessKristy

        June 12, 2012 at 9:43 pm

  2. Hahah your ex boss was so right:-).

    charlie

    June 12, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  3. I hate going to the shop for milk and then coming out with a trolley full of stuff you didn’t need

    Expat Mammy

    June 13, 2012 at 12:03 am

  4. I find that I am relieved that when they don’t fit. That’s more money saved to spend on a handbag!

    matshila

    June 13, 2012 at 12:26 pm


Leave a Reply

