Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Silent Sunday: Jubilee in a Dubai supermarket

with 7 comments

I’m not very good at being silent, as most of my friends will tell you, so there’s a little introduction to Silent Sunday today. While I largely ignored the Jubilee (it’s easy when just 0.05% of the population is British), I did pop into a local, Indian-managed hypermarket to see its “Best of British” promotion.  

But while I was expecting scones, clotted cream and Victoria sponge, and maybe some frozen food imported from Iceland (shop, not country), what I actually found was this:

 

Coconut rings, malted milk biscuits, Heinz baked beans and ketchup. In case you weren’t sure if they were British, the cardboard double-deckers were a clue.

I particularly liked the soldiers guarding the shampoo.

And the freshly cooked British food sounds delish, no?

 

Written by mrsdubai

June 3, 2012 at 3:28 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love it, one of those double decker buses would look great in my son’s room.

    pinkydints

    June 3, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  2. Let me guess – the lovely LuLu Supermarket –

    mita56

    June 3, 2012 at 4:16 pm

  3. Ah I loved LuLu, so did you stock up your coconut rings???

    Expat Mammy

    June 3, 2012 at 11:09 pm

  4. I think the soldier by the shampoo stand is not bad way to bring some British charm into the hypermarket, I love it. Well, as for the British food options I’m quite glad that they included some healthy options; at least it portrays a positive image about the Briton diet.

    Daisy Harper.

    June 9, 2012 at 6:55 pm


Leave a Reply

