Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Mrs Dubai’s schooldays

with 4 comments

“Mummy, did they use the cane when you were at school?”

Given that they phased out corporal punishment while I was at school I thought that was a very good question from DD.

“Yes, darling.”

“And did they have the Dunce hat?”

“Yep.” I went to a Grammar School that was big on punishments. The cane, the slipper, the ruler, the Dunce hat, lines, essays, detentions…

“Did you ever get it? The cane or the Dunce cap?”

“Not the cane, but yes, I had to wear the Dunce cap once.”

“What for?”

“It’s a long story…” [I won’t bore you with all the details, suffice to say it still amuses me to this day].

“Wow. And what about slates? What was it like writing on a slate?”

Yes, dear, I also wore a frilly cap and cleaned chimneys after school.

 “Slates, darling?”

“Well, it’s just that we’re learning about Victorian times and you didn’t have paper and pens at school then, did you? I thought you had to write everything on slates with chalk…?”

Oh yes, that’d be right: Victorian times.

Written by mrsdubai

May 30, 2012 at 5:55 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dubai is marvelous city. For myself I loved this place. I visited many times. I lived and worked there for many years. I can see a marvelous future for this city. Especially in the field of Architecture and Tourism.

    I wrote a post about ” Dubai Mall, a place I loved ” you can check it here :

    http://familyspecialcorner.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/the-dubai-malla/

    Sam Mike

    Sam Mike

    May 30, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  2. when my daughter was learning about the Victorians she came home and asked me

    “mummy, did you have TV when you were a Victorian?”

    Theresa

    May 30, 2012 at 6:56 pm

  3. This is hilarious. They really do come out with them sometimes don’t they!

    mumofalltrades1

    May 31, 2012 at 2:09 am

  4. It’s really amazing how modern schooling contrasts with the older education systems. However, one thing that I admire about the old days is that school children were actually more disciplined because of the cane. Although am not one of the people that supports corporal punishment, I have to admit that it helped in enforcing discipline within schools.

    Edden

    June 4, 2012 at 12:15 pm


Leave a Reply

