Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Villagio Mall fire, Doha

with 3 comments

The news about the fatal fire in Villagio Mall, Doha, Qatar, has shocked us all.Image

Every parent hugged their children a little tighter this morning as we read about the 13 children – all younger than four – their teachers and the two brave firemen who died in the fire.

How does a parent get through something like that, especially the Weekes family, who lost triplets who were just two years old?

It’s every parent’s nightmare that something happens to the children while they’re supposed to be in a safe environment. We check nurseries for cleanliness, for English-speaking staff, for a good curriculum and bright, child-friendly facilities – but I, for one, have never asked about evacuation drills, nor checked for sprinklers and fire exits.

But, as stories of collapsing stairs, defunct sprinklers and badly marked exits start to emerge regarding the Doha tragedy, I doubt I’ll be the only one looking at my children’s school and nursery with fresh eyes tomorrow morning.

My thoughts are with all those touched by this tragedy.

Written by mrsdubai

May 29, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In the nursery I taught in, we had a fire drill twice a year. The nursery was in a pretty decrepit old villa in Garhoud, and was far from full of the bells and whistles you see at the newer nurseries. But we did have an evacuation plan and clearly marked exits, and the children knew what to do – something I am almost certain is not true of my son’s nursery, given I have been a sub there and there has been no mention of an evacuation plan. It’s a serious issue, one that is sadly highlighted by this tragedy. But thank you for posting because now the first thing I am doing in the morning is becoming that pain in the arse mother who asks them to do something about it, and YES BEFORE THE END OF THE YEAR (because you know they will try and fob me off). I hope everyone that reads this does the same.

    FNB

    May 29, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  2. I think a lot of nurseries will have a lot of mums asking questions tomorrow. it doesn’t bear thinking about. xox

    mrsdubai

    May 29, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  3. Oh my goodness.. As far as I know this didn’t even make the news in the UK, but it should have. Those poor parents, so tragic. Unimaginable pain.

    Louise

    May 29, 2012 at 6:17 pm


Leave a Reply

