Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The invisible housewife

with 2 comments

I nipped out of the house today to pick up yoghurt as part of my “white” dinner (more on this tomorrow). A trip to the local shop here is about as exciting as waiting for DS to vomit, which is what I’d spent a large part of today doing, so I didn’t bother strapping on the gold Jimmy Choos, as I’m sure you can imagine.

It might have suited me. Even with my brown hair.

But, as I walked out of the shop, a pot of low-fat yoghurt in each hand, I heard a strange rumbling sound, which heralded the arrival in the car park of a most unusual-looking car driven by a rather nice-looking young man. Being something of a secret petrol-head, I had a split-second thought about going over to ask him about his car. Maybe he’d even let me sit in it!

But, then I remembered.

Having popped out from my vigil by DS’s sick bed, I was in no fit state to be seen by handsome young sports-car drivers. I was a 41-year-old housewife on a down-day. I was wearing GAP khaki shorts that only just covered my cellulite (no mean feat given that can extend, on a bad day, to my knees) with an unremarkable white t-shirt and flip-flops that have seen me through two pregnancies in their eight-year lifespan.

To top it all off, I thought, as I moped quietly back to my family four-wheel-drive, I’m not even blonde anymore. Who was I kidding?

Written by mrsdubai

May 22, 2012 at 5:44 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laughing lots. I knew before I even opened the page what was coming. As soon as he’s better get your glad rags on and go cheer yourself up. A non blonde however is unforgivable!

    citygirlnomore

    May 22, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    • Well, there’s blonde, and then there’s the sort of yellow-tinged crispiness which was the state of my hair after 10+ years of bleaching. I think it’s going to be a good year before I can get out the bleach again. xox

      mrsdubai

      May 22, 2012 at 7:36 pm


Leave a Reply

