Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The Kate Middie effect

with 7 comments

I’m not a royalist, by any stretch of the imagination. But I don’t hate the royal family either – I was never above having a look at magazines with Diana in them; nor am I above clicking on the odd Prince-Harry-playing-polo-pix (phoar); nor seeing what Kate Middie’s been wearing on her latest outing to Waitrose.

The Jimmy Choo Vamp: Divine, delicious daywear.

 

I didn’t particularly like Middie’s wedding gown (it was a bit too frumpy and a bit too pointy about the boobs for my liking); I didn’t rush out to buy the blue Essa dress in which Middie got engaged; and neither did I buy the rip-off “Pippa” bridesmaid dress that Debenhams came out with.

However, slowly but surely, I do believe I’ve been a little Kate Middie’d. Nowadays I look a little longer in the window at Reiss than I ever used to (still not a fan, though). I found out what colour lipstick she wore at her wedding and tried it on at Bobbi Brown. And now I believe I’m about to make my first ever Kate Middie purchase: Those pale-gold Jimmy Choo platform sandals.

But, while the Duchess wears them as part of her “night-out” kit, teaming them only with floor-sweeping, designer evening frocks, I live in Dubai. Here, they’d be casual daywear. I’ll be wearing mine with jeans on the school run. Up your game, Middie, up your game.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those shoes are amazing. Really really amazing.

    TJP

    May 21, 2012 at 8:46 pm

  2. Yes, amazing and very beautiful – but DRIVING in them???

    Kate

    May 22, 2012 at 1:42 am

  3. completely brillsville, LOVE this!

    kelly1814

    May 22, 2012 at 10:57 am

  4. I wasn’t part of the glam school run mums gang but what a pleasing sight for sore eyes they were! way to go mrs dubai!

    matshila

    May 22, 2012 at 11:38 am

  5. Ahem…..!

    DH

    May 22, 2012 at 3:06 pm

  6. I find my shoes look remarkably like this after the school run anyway, well gold-coloured, on account of the sandy coating they acquire in the “car park” (using that term loosely)

    amanda

    May 22, 2012 at 6:13 pm


Leave a Reply

