Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

From blonde to brunette

with 4 comments

After nearly 12 years as a blonde, last week I returned to my brunette roots. It’s something I’ve thought about for a few years, but every time I mention it to a hairdresser they throw their hands in the air and start hyperventilating (blonde, I suspect, must be more lucrative than brunette).

Next we’ll try red and blonde stripes. I’m feeling brave!

 

“You suit blonde,” they argue. “You’ll hate brown hair. You’ll be back here wanting blonde again within two weeks. You’ll feel really dull. You’ll feel invisible,” and then the final straw: “When you hate it, it’ll really damage your hair to change from dyed brunette back to blonde.”

But last week something went awry in the communication process and, after going in to have my roots re-blonded, I came out with soft, shiny, dark-brown hair, with just a hint of a few little highlights.

And I can’t say I dislike it.

But I have noticed a few differences from being a blonde. For all of you considering taking the plunge, here they are:

          I have blue eyes. Honestly, you wouldn’t have noticed before.

          I have shinier hair. The semi-permanent tint is quite conditioning, and dark colours reflect light better.

          While I can no longer wear 50 per cent of my “blonde” wardrobe, I suddenly look much better in white and strong, solid colours such as navy, green and red.

          Pastel pink lip gloss and girlie pink blusher now look great, as do bronzer and bronze lipstick.

          I get a lot more flirty looks from Lebanese and Emirati men. Seriously! (and me, a 41-year-old housewife!)

But what does the family think? They are, after all, the most important.

DS: “I love your hair, mummy.”

DD: “I really don’t like it. When are you changing it back?”

My mum: “At last.”

And, finally, DH: “Gentlemen prefer blondes.”

I’d just like to add that, after a week, DH changed his mind. And I didn’t withhold the TV remote on cricket night. Of course I didn’t. I would never do that.

Written by mrsdubai

May 13, 2012 at 6:58 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Blonde is more high maintenance so any business minded hairdresser will ALWAYS go for blonde . I went from blonde to brown a few years ago and I have no regrets + I have saved so much money which went straight towards the “brown” wardrobe:-).

    charlie

    May 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    • Very interesting. I’ve always suspected this. Cheeky little hairdressers. xox

      mrsdubai

      May 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm

  2. Hi – I like your blog. I wanted to know the name of your hairdresser – I’m thinking of reversing my hair colour (brunette with blonde highlights from very very blonde) and having only lived here for two months I’m terrified I’ll end up with green or orange hair, and I’m in desp need of a good professional! x


Leave a Reply

