Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

What shocked you when you had your first baby?

with 11 comments

So Beyonce’s shocked to find that, having had a baby, she no longer has time to beautify herself. She now cuts her own hair and wears flat shoes (how long will that last, I wonder?).

Still looking pretty glossy there, Bey.

But still, the fact that mothers no longer have time ad infinitum to spend on pampering and preening must have come as a terrible shock to her – as most things do when you have your first baby. Even more so if, like Beyonce (and I, although I don’t wish to compare my career to hers lest she look like a slacker), you’re used to calling the shots in a career before you have your first baby.

So, what shocked you when you first gave birth? Thinking back seven years, here’s what surprised me when I first gave birth to DD:

          How much breast-feeding hurt. I had no idea.

          How much indignity there is in giving birth – and how little I cared about the indignity.

          How much there is that mothers never tell non-mothers.

          The fact that I could no longer eat the in-flight meal – or even drink gin – on flights.

          How little sleep I could get by on.

          How sick babies can mess up the best-laid of plans.

          The fact that the world goes on, no matter how rubbish you feel.

          How much I could love another human being.

I’d love to hear yours.

Written by mrsdubai

May 5, 2012 at 7:44 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That someone really needed me and loved me unconditionally and did not judge me. And was gifted to me by Allah!

    mehmudah

    May 5, 2012 at 9:55 pm

  2. I am all for the indignity bit… A recently married friend of mine was telling me how she gets really uncomfortable when doctors check her heartbeat. I told her, once you have a baby that’ll go away. You lose all your inhibitions…

    Mehnaz

    May 6, 2012 at 8:08 am

  3. I remember my DH looking at me, wide-eyed with fear, and saying, ‘Where’s the off button?’ and me replying, deadpan with shock, ‘There isn’t one’.

    Circles in the Sand

    May 6, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    • We had a similar conversation that went along the lines of “Where’s the manual?” “There isn’t one!”

      mrsdubai

      May 6, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  4. …the tears in my eyes…!!

    DH

    May 6, 2012 at 3:51 pm

  5. That my hearing became supersonic – before my son was born I could sleep through anything, once he was born I would wake up even if he moved, sneezed, wimpered, any slight noise coming from his bedroom woke me up.

    Oh and yes I was so shocked that breastfeeding hurt so much, gawd those first couple of days are agony.

    Lovely post!

    TJP

    May 6, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    • Thanks! Yes, I too, have become a light sleeper. Sometimes I even wake up seconds before DS cries in the night. Psychic. xox

      mrsdubai

      May 6, 2012 at 9:09 pm

  6. The breastfeeding agony. And how it can take so many hours of the day to look after a baby who doesn’t do anything except feed and sleep. (I’m still not sure, and I’ve had 3.)

    Iota

    September 29, 2012 at 12:21 am


Leave a Reply

