Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

“What I bought” Wednesday

with 5 comments

I went to Ikea this afternoon to buy three silver picture frames and a potato ricer, the latter on the advice of my dear friend A, whose mashed potato my incredibly fussy D-there’s-lumps-in-it”-D and D-“don’t-like-mashed-potatoes”-S actually will eat.

I found the ricer and the photo frames but, at the check-out, my trolley also contained:

"Buy me!" Buy me!" woofed the Ikea dog

 

4 x swimming towels (not needed but I liked the pattern)

1 x stuffed doll (boy variety, clutched by DS)

1 x stuffed dog (Dalmation variety, clutched by DS)

1 x washing-up brush (clutched by DS: “I help Gerlie.”)

2 x funnels (I often wish I had a funnel. Can’t think why now, but… next time)

1 x roll of art paper

2 x duvet cover sets (for DS)

1 x pillow (for DS)

2 x chopping boards (can never have too many)

1 x packet paper napkins (ditto)

Anyway, I’m slightly relieved, in a strange way, to say I actually ended up buying none of these items, despite ringing them up at the till. I also didn’t buy marshmallows for the children to eat on the way home, much to DS’s disgust.

That’s what happens when you leave your purse at home.

Written by mrsdubai

April 25, 2012 at 5:35 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And all that time you had me thinking you were just like me with another average “just need one thing” trip to Ikea….

    PrincessKristy

    April 25, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    • I can never come out of Ikea with less than a full trolley. I don’t know how they do it!

      Mrs Dubai

      April 25, 2012 at 9:51 pm

  2. Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

    household items

    April 8, 2013 at 8:39 pm


Leave a Reply

