Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The tittle-tattle bank

with 4 comments

I’ve been busy lately, planning the family’s summer holidays. Anyone who thinks you just go onto emirates.com and click “book flights” has no concept of what entails a family holiday. Honest to god, it’s not an easy task.

I'm actually thinking of setting up as a high-end personal travel consultant after working on this summer's plans.

 

We have flights. We have stops in hotels because onward flights don’t connect. We have more flights and more nights in hotels because cruises and flights don’t connect. We have The Cruise (more on this another day, I’m sure). We have shore excursions and we have drinks packages. Then we have car rental, Spanish villas, optional WiFi and pool heaters. And return flights, airport transfers and UK car rental. We have different people returning to Dubai on different days. We have the possibility of a Skywards upgrade (fat chance).

And then, after all that’s signed and sealed, we have Gerlie’s flights to organise.

See? Not simple.

So, I’ve been doing a bit at a time. Disappearing into my office after dinner with a glass of Merlot and choosing airlines, seats, meal plans and hotels. Reading hotel reviews, checking airline timetables, viewing ship cabins on You Tube. And every now and then I make a decision and click “book”.

Then I wander back into the living room and collapse on the sofa with a sigh.

“Booked the flights then?” asks DH with a smug smile.

Yes, as a matter of fact, I have. But how do you know?

He knows because our bank calls him up, late at night on the sofa, to tell him that his wife’s booked flights to Europe, a hotel and a hire car in Spain and does he mind? Shall they let her? (And what does she need a 9-seater for anyway?)

Welcome, Dubai, to the 21st century. This, dear friends, is life as a Housewife.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh yes – I think even as an independent woman you have to just shrug your shoulders and say ‘when in Rome’. To the outside world though, quite laughable. Sounds like a great trip.

    citygirlnomore

    April 11, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • You’re absolutely right. You can’t fight it. But how am I going to s
      neak my new Cartier Tank Americaine watch past him??

      mrsdubai

      April 12, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  2. I feel your pain in EVERY purchase, not just the big travel stuff! Damn bank sms system.

    PrincessKristy

    April 15, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  3. I’ve just had a slightly similar credit card incident involving a much smaller purchase – an iPad (an iPad I was hoping to hide and keep for myself, which would’ve worked if he hadn’t checked the credit card, and so now I have to share). My husband has an inner radar for when I whip out one of the credit cards. He can name items without having seen them. He’ll call from work for a random and inane reason, right as my finger is hovering over the “Confirm Purchase” button online. I have no idea how he does it. I should never ever have taught him how to use internet banking.

    Parental Parody

    August 22, 2012 at 3:41 am


Leave a Reply

