Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Life at a discount

with 4 comments

I’m the first to admit, I came late to the Entertainer books. First, I worked in media and had people throwing everything at me for free, from champagne and gourmet dinners to holidays and cosmetic surgery (no, I never did it, if you’re wondering, although one well-known clinic did once offer me a boob job, tummy tuck or liposuction for Christmas); second, I thought voucher books were tacky; and third, I had two babies and hence no social life.

In fact, for the past seven years, the thought of doing enough “stuff” to warrant a 400-page book of money-off vouchers was as laughable as sending the children to Mars for supper.

But DS just turned three and, in a fit of yoga-induced energy, I bought Entertainer Kids on a whim. Not only would it be a source of ideas for fun-filled family days out, I thought, but it would be a challenge. How many vouchers would I be able to get through in a year?

Needless to say, April dawned and not one voucher had been torn out of the book.

So yesterday I decided to dust it off and start working my through it. With my mum in town, it was the perfect opportunity. At a loose end in the afternoon, we drove to Palm Jumeirah and took the monorail up to Atlantis (nice views – Dhs 25 return), where we used two vouchers to get the four of us into The Lost Chambers at a 50 per cent discount.

Pink jellyfish at The Lost Chambers. Who knew they swam upside down?

 

“Mummy, I’m having so much fun!” squealed DD as she skipped from tanks of prehistoric dinosauresquey fish that were bigger than DH to tanks of neon-pink jellyfish.

“Me too!” squealed DS, because he’s three.

I couldn’t believe it was such a hit. We even spent 10 minutes sitting in front of the main aquarium, quietly hypnotised by the fish swimming past. I did wonder, though, if DD’d got the right end of the stick, when she said, “Mummy! Look at that one! It would make such a pretty handbag!” (Leopard print with flashes of neon blue and yellow, by the way – she wasn’t wrong.)

50 per cent off haircuts tomorrow; Thursday, the world’s our oyster.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really believe those books catch up with us all at some point! I resisted them for 3 years (is there something British about not wanting to ask for a discount, I wonder?!) But DH is always trying to get money off so I bought him the books for Christmas, lol! They’re such a big hit! We keep them in the car – and it’s become a game to use as many of the vouchers as we can! The kids leaf through the books now and even the 3yo can spot the Chuck-e-Cheez voucher and get all excited – a chip off the old block, I reckon! Hope you’re having a wonderful time with your Mum xxx

    Circles in the Sand

    April 3, 2012 at 10:20 pm

  2. tell me more about Chuck e Cheez. It sounds vile but is very tempting given I could do some outlet-mall handbag shopping – is it really suitable for little ones?
    Great idea to keep thr Entertainer in the car, BTW. The number of times we’ve got somewhere and I’ve thought “dammit, I have a voucher for that at home!”

    mrsdubai

    April 4, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • Can’t even begin to tell u how much my kids love Chuck e Cheese, and how much I hate it! Yes, vile. BB’s been going since birth in America – on discovering it here, he was beside himself. I have pictures of him at all stages of development sitting in a photo-booth car, next to the chuck e cheese rat. You’ll burn through money Global Village style, eat pizza (salad bar too), and sip on the worst cup of tea you’ve ever tasted, but DD and DS will be in their element. And, yes, the 3yo loves it too! BB goes on the fair ride at least 4 times, LB sort of potters around, not really knowing how to work anything, but as happy as larry. We go at least twice a month! And, if DH stays with them, the whole outlet mall is your oyster! Beware, though, the outlet mall is crazy busy on Fridays.
      Yes, sling the Entertainer in the back of the car – it’ll get covered in sand, footprints but the vouchers still work! 🙂

      Circles in the Sand

      April 5, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      • Thanks for that. I haven’t plucked up the courage to face this horror yet. But I was in Extreme Fun this morning and looking for you!!! 🙂

        mrsdubai

        April 9, 2012 at 6:02 pm


Leave a Reply

