Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Small but unexpected pleasures

with 8 comments

At breakfast this morning, I became aware that there was going to be a slot of time in the afternoon when I would be home alone. Utterly alone. No children. No DH. And – unusually – no Gerlie.

It wasn’t a long slot of time – maybe one hour and 15 minutes – but I wanted to use it to the max and the problem was, as time alone for me is rarer than a rainy day in Dubai, I honestly didn’t know what I most wanted to do.

My head was spinning with possibilities.

Our pool - I mean, really, why wouldn't you?

Write blog post without children hanging off me. Get to grips with my book (I’m all fired up like a Catherine Wheel after the Literature Festival). Get to grips with work for tomorrow. Answer emails. Read a book. Go for a blissful hour of reflexology. Have a massage. Sleep. Drink a cheeky G&T and dance on the dining table. Lie in the sun.

Lie in the sun? I haven’t done that for 100 years! It was 32C today, with a lovely breeze. What a great idea to lie in the sun!

And the beauty of “lie in the sun” is that it could be combined with “sleep”, “read a book”, “drink a cheeky G&T” or even “get to grips with my book”. (That’s what I call multi-tasking.)

Sometimes, I forget the benefits of living in a sunshine destination like Dubai. Although we’ve a beautiful pool and some of the most comfortable loungers on which you’ve ever set bum, I never sit in the sun by the pool during the week because I feel I can’t lounge about like the proverbial Dubai Housewife while Gerlie cleans my house and looks after my children.

It’s just plain wrong.

So today, with no Gerlie to watch with reproachful eyes, I put on my bikini, lay on the lounger, gazed at the turquoise water of our pool and did plain, sweet nothing. For an hour.

I don’t know who enjoyed it most: Me, or the gardeners in the adjacent park, who got a full hour of Shapely Housewife in Bikini. As I said: Unexpected pleasures.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was just right there with you on that blog, very jealously wishing it were me having that sneaky G&T and hours lay down in the sun; better still diving into that inviting pool. Alas, back in drizzly blighty, just bumped up my heating and preparing for the afternoon ‘school run and all the bickering that entails’!

    citygirlnomore

    March 13, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    • Thank you! Would have been nice to have a cheeky G&T in the sun together!!

      mrsdubai

      March 13, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  2. Haha, nice read as usual.

    mehmudah

    March 13, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  3. How lovely. Me-time is so delicious, especially when it comes as a surprise. Nice blog. Only just discovered you and followed you on Twitter. Keep it up!

    Ulrike

    March 14, 2012 at 10:00 am

  4. I have a sneaky feeling I know how that alone-time occurred. Meanwhile would you believe that my me-time here in the UK has been entirely ambushed by flu. Feeling dreadful. What were the chances?

    amanda

    March 15, 2012 at 1:39 am

  5. I don’t think you could have done anything better. Well done!

    Kate

    March 15, 2012 at 2:54 am


Leave a Reply

