Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Mrs Dubai’s apple and all-spice pancakes (easy breakfast idea)

with one comment

Following my disclosure that DD likes homemade apple and cinnamon pancakes (they’re actually apple and all-spice if we’re getting technical), I’ve been inundated with people saying how amazing it is that I make them in the mornings.

Well, small confession here: I don’t actually make them in the mornings (would you?). While I have moments when I can be pretty good at home, I’ve not yet entirely surrendered my life to the art of housewifery. I make the pancakes on a Saturday afternoon, when a glass of wine is so close I could almost smell it (ie about 4pm), then freeze them in layers of greaseproof paper.

In the mornings, I just whip two out, microwave them back to life for one minute and drizzle with maple syrup. Delish.

Ingredients

Okay, so I'm no food photographer, but this is roughly what they look like. On an orange plate.

225g self-raising flour
1 tablespoon caster sugar (can use less)
All-spice or cinnamon powder (as much as you like)
1 egg, lightly beaten
300ml milk
1.5 red apples, skinned and grated
Wheatbran

Spray olive oil for cooking (I used to use butter but it makes them very heavy and artery-clogging). I now use PAM spray oil and it makes a much lighter pancake.

Method

Combine flour, sugar and all-spice (or cinnamon or nutmeg) in a bowl. Make a well in the centre. Whisk egg and milk together. Add egg mixture to flour. If you’re feeling strong, whisk until smooth – I use the electric mixer for about 30 seconds at which point I get bored and stop.

Stir in the grated apple and the wheat bran. I put as much wheat bran in as I think I can get away with without DD noticing. Usually a generous shake and a bit.

Heat a large frying pan. Spray with cooking oil. Dollop in the mixture to make pancakes about the size of the palm of your hand and cook gently till bubbles appear (I can get about three in one pan). Flip without sticking them to the ceiling, cook till light brown and da-nah! Breakfast done for a week.

Layer with greaseproof paper in plastic containers, and freeze.

Reawaken with 1 minute in the microwave. Serve with maple syrup, then read the Daily Mail online while the kids enjoy.

Written by mrsdubai

February 1, 2012 at 6:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yuk they look horrid.

    Anon

    March 1, 2012 at 2:52 pm


Leave a Reply

