Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Christmas shopping. Sigh.

with 2 comments

I love to shop for other people but it seems to me, as I trawl the malls with a credit card begging to be used, that all the people I have to buy presents for are particularly difficult this year. How about you?

Causing anguish this year I have:

Dear Husband: Been together 20 years and, as he’s the sole earner (my income just about buys the loo roll each month), he effectively buys what he wants himself. Ways to surprise him? Nil. What he wants for Christmas? The 2010 Range Rover Sport Supercharged. Can I buy it for him? Not without a Letter of No Objection from him and a loan. On his account.

Dear Son: At two and a half, he’s no longer such a tiny baby that he doesn’t know or care what he gets. He doesn’t know what he does want, but he’ll know (as will we all) if he gets something he doesn’t want.

Dear Daughter: Aged six and a half going on 16, DD is no longer impressed by gimmicky plastic tat (was she ever?), fake BlackBerrys and fake makeup. Kids’ toys are a no-go. What I need is one big “wow” present that’ll knock her socks off and intrigue and entertain her for hours on end. It’ll be intellectually challenging, exciting, fun and grown-up. It’ll have infinite variety in the ways it can hold her attention, and it’ll grow and expand as she does. (yes, an iPad would be ideal but I’m not going there; she can use mine).

My mum: She’s easy in that she loves jewellery but difficult in that her tastes are wildly different from my own. She also plays a lot of golf – but how many golf balls, tees, Big Berthas and computerised score-card tally things can you buy for one person?

Brother and SIL: Oh god. I mean, really? What do you buy your 43-year-old millionaire brother? What?

Best Friend: The most stylish woman I know, BF has far better taste than I do. There’s always a fear that, whatever I choose for her, she would have chosen a slightly more edgy, more unique and more classy version herself, from an oblique, sustainable, one-woman business that also happens to give something back to the world in an angel-pleasing way. “Inadequate” doesn’t come close.

Best Friend’s Husband: He’s a man. What else can I say? *Tricky*.

Any ideas? Leave me a comment!

Written by mrsdubai

November 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I haven’t even started! Sigh. I think everyone in the Uk will get amazon gift vouchers, emailed to them from amazon, like they did 2 years ago. DH has already bought himself a new laptop from me. The kids – no idea, they want a hamster, but i can see the novelty wearing off and me looking after it! My organised brother and s-i-l do a list so will consult that!!! Good luck!

    Circles in the Sand

    November 27, 2011 at 1:35 pm

  2. i am getting my grandma (in uk) subscription to house and garden magazine. my mum assures me she will love it.

    Britney of Arabia

    November 29, 2011 at 6:31 pm


Leave a Reply

