Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Press HELP if you’ve got an electro-magnetic bum

leave a comment »

Some time ago, Mall of the Emirates installed ticket barriers at the entrances to its car parks. Parking’s free for four hours, after which you have to pay.

On leaving the mall, you shove your ticket into the machine for validation (oh yes you do – you never drive to the exit and then realise you’ve forgotten. Never!). The machine tells you if you need to pay, or validates the ticket if you don’t, and then you shove it into the machine at the car park exit, and it lets you out into the big, wide world.

Let me out! Let me out! It's just my bum!

 

It’s a great system, and I’m grateful for four hours of free parking. My only issue is that, in the last five months, not one of my MoE parking tickets has worked.

“Faulty ticket. Please press HELP button,” is the message I get every single time I try to validate it.

To be fair, the HELP button is very helpful and usually results in a new ticket being issued with about 10 seconds, but I have to wonder, why me?

To begin with, I thought that, because I keep the ticket next to my BlackBerry, maybe that was disrupting the magnetic strip so I moved the ticket to my wallet.

Then I thought maybe the magnets that snap my DKNY handbag shut were causing the problem – but it happens with the Prada, the Tod’s and the Coach too (no magnets).

So I started keeping the ticket tucked safely against my bum in the back pocket of my jeans, and guess what? I still get the problem. Is there such a thing as an electro-magnetic bum?

Written by mrsdubai

November 22, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Leave a Reply

