Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Skills I’ve learned as a mum – Part II

with 5 comments

My brain may well have degenerated into a cellular soup stirred only by thoughts about how to keep the children alive but, on the upside, motherhood has taught me some new skills.

In February 2010 I wrote about my newly acquired mummy skills but now I find that having two children increases the skill set exponentially.

Oh yes, still dreaming of a good night's sleep

Here’s what I’ve learned in the last six months:  

          How to doze on a hard plastic seat at the same time as watching the children in a play area.

          How to hold a conversation on the phone while a toddler-tantrum is in full flow at knee-level.

          How to take a micro-nap while watching Thomas The Tank Engine and sometimes even while reading Thomas The Tank Engine (amazing how the mouth keeps moving long after the brain falls asleep).

          How to get through the day feeling almost normal after getting less than four interrupted hours of sleep.

          How to drive at a speed so constant, so smooth and so unexciting that it lulls a cranky “I’m not sleepy!” DS to sleep.

          How to take a power nap on the flattened front seat of the car in the mall car park without caring about the 10 Indian men peering in at the freaky white woman.

          How to persuade DS that he really, really does want to go to nursery after nearly four months on holiday.

          How to produce valid work while my office chair’s being pulled all around the room.

Please add your own.

Written by mrsdubai

November 3, 2011 at 7:48 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are much more skilled than me. Mine are mercifully at school now but when they were wee ones I could not concentrate on anything while they were screaming ‘muuummmmmeee’ at me. However one skill I have learnt is:
    Be totally selfish on planes when travelling with kids. When getting on take a Tylenol PM, cover self with blanket, look innocent when other passengers ask you if they are your kids who have just thrown up on them!!

  2. How to write a blog while 2 children are busy fighting.

    Apart from that, I don’t think I’ve really learnt much. Oh wait, there is something….

    I’ve learnt how inadequate I am, and just how ignorant I am.

    mehmudah

    November 3, 2011 at 7:59 pm

  3. I can zone out and read, too. Sometimes it’s the only way to survive yet another round of “Once Upon a Potty.”

    becomingcliche

    November 3, 2011 at 8:00 pm

  4. I hear you on all of the above!!

    Expat Mammy

    November 3, 2011 at 9:02 pm

  5. I guess you are not getting too much sleep these days …. 😦

    Kate

    November 4, 2011 at 2:41 am


Leave a Reply

