Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

What did I get from university?

with 3 comments

Sometimes I wonder why I went to university.

I mean, all that late-night swotting at the library; all that exam anxiety; the reading lists; the lectures; the psychobiology experiments; the dissertations; the hot summers of exams  – they were for what, I wonder?

As DH and I sweated it out on late-night study sessions (yes, we met at university), at no point was there a moment when he said, “You may as well go to bed, hotlips – you’ll be looking after the kids, anyway, so doesn’t really matter if you get a 1st or a 2:2. Mine’s the career that’s going to matter.”

Don't stress, hotlips, your job'll be making the packed lunches

 

And, for a few years, I had my career. Amazingly, I earned more than DH for a time. Then I earned less, but still a decent wage. I was the boss; I ran my own company. I was responsible for people – not just their careers, but their lives and the lives of their dependants.

And then I had children.

So now, while DH now dazzles on the professional stage, earns a million and networks over cocktails at Zuma and dinners at The Riv, my degree (a 2:1 BSc Hons from Warwick University, by the way) sits figuratively on the mantelpiece while I spend my days driving the school run; sitting in car parks while DS sleeps in the back of the car; making packed lunches; mindfully dozing in public play areas; coaching the children through dinner; and calming toddler tantrums.

It’s hardly Honours degree work, is it?

And then I remember what exactly it was I got from university.

22 years after I packed my teddy bear and my text books and headed up north to study, it’s funny to think that the most valuable thing I gained from university was not my degree, but my husband.

Written by mrsdubai

November 2, 2011 at 3:17 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw! How sweet!

    Kate

    November 3, 2011 at 2:45 am

  2. I have a friend who is rubbing his hands in glee as his youngest daughter completes her first term at a very posh university, known to attract undergrads from the highest socio-economic groups (think Wills and Kate). My biggest surprise when reading this is was that you did not graduate in English. A lady of many talents, obviously!

    Bearlady

    November 3, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    • I had no idea, aged 18, that university was such a hunting ground for husbands. Naively, I believed it was all about education!! Yes, I studied psychology. Didn’t even do English A-level!!

      mrsdubai

      November 3, 2011 at 7:51 pm


Leave a Reply

