Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

On wardrobe de-cluttering

with one comment

I’m playing a fun game with myself at the moment. It’s called “Use it or lose it” and refers to my wardrobe, of which I only ever seem to wear 20 per cent.

One day my wardrobe will look like this...

Come to think of it, maybe 20 per cent is an exaggeration. Lately I’ve fallen into a rut of wearing shorts, a vest and flip-flops every day that I don’t need to go further than the nursery school or the grocery shop. After nearly four years of being a stay-at-home mum, it’s finally hit me that there’s absolutely no point in floating round the house dolled up to the nines. My laptop certainly doesn’t appreciate it, and I’m sure Gerlie doesn’t either.

I probably don’t need to remind you that I was once the girl who wore heels and a frock just to go to Spinneys; the girl who dragged a newborn baby around the malls just to be sure that she had something OTM to wear; the girl who wore heels to baby massage class (okay, I’m joking there, it was probably actually wedges).

So I’ve decided to get tough with the wardrobe.

Each day, I pick something that’s appropriate for the day’s agenda and, if I then decide I don’t want to wear it, or if I put it on and take it off because it doesn’t make me feel good, doesn’t fit right, is an unflattering colour or is dated, it goes into a box to be disposed of. I do it not just for clothes, but for shoes, jewellery and make-up too.

I’ve been doing it for about a fortnight now, and the results so far have been brilliant. For a start, my wardrobe’s less cluttered and I can see things in it more clearly. There’s also a higher chance that I might actually like some of the things in my wardrobe. I’ve started making more of an effort to dress nicely again and, finally, I’ve discovered new ways to wear old things.

I even got a compliment the other day. Now that hasn’t happened for a while.

 

Written by mrsdubai

October 27, 2011 at 11:15 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m doing it too so I don’t take so much rubbish with us when we move, it’s good for the soul i think

    Expat Mammy

    October 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm


Leave a Reply

