Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

My first mammogram

with 7 comments

I don’t know what I expected a mammogram to be like. I think I’d seen pictures of women with their faces squidged sideways and their boobs held in clamps. I’d imagined these poor women dangled for 20 or more minutes by their nipples, while a noisy machine clunked and whirred and the women froze, half naked, in arctic air-conditioning while a scowling male doctor looked on. I was imagining it was something to be endured.

Squidge

The reality, at least at the clinic I attended, was far from that. It was done by a lovely Filipina lady – and it was over in about two minutes. The room was warm, it wasn’t humiliating (well, only the bit where my boobs were so tiny I had to question whether they would actually make it into the machine) and it didn’t hurt.

After the mammogram, this clinic also does an ultrasound just to double-check. The ultrasound nurse used warm gel – why don’t they use that when you’re pregnant? – and told me at the end of it that she hadn’t seen anything to worry about, just one little cyst.

The best surprise came at the end, though. I hadn’t asked what it would cost but I guess I was expecting something in the range of Dhs 1,500. It was actually Dhs 362* and, for some reason, they deducted 25 per cent, leaving me with a bill of Dhs 217. If you do it annually, that’s 59 Fils a day for peace of mind. Not bad.

*The 4-D ultrasound was an extra Dhs 508. I went to the Well Woman Clinic at Allied Diagnostics. Tel: 04-3327117

Written by mrsdubai

October 25, 2011 at 4:17 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow that was a good price.x

    Expat Mammy

    October 25, 2011 at 9:49 pm

  2. […] Don’t put it off any more Posted by mita56 ⋅ October 26, 2011 ⋅ Leave a Comment via mrsdubai.wordpress.com […]

  3. Great news that you are ok, and thanks for writing about this topic. I have finally booked one for myself after hearing how painless they are. I am sure you have motivated lots of other women get checked up too.

    TJP

    October 27, 2011 at 7:57 am

  4. Thanks so much for telling us about your experience with the mammogram. It’s something that’s always on womens’ minds to go and do and yet still we put it off. Thank you again and I plan to go and book my appointment.

    Claire Stapley

    November 2, 2011 at 5:23 pm

  5. Excellent news!

    Bearlady

    November 3, 2011 at 4:32 pm

  6. I’d like to know which clinic would be the best for me to go for mammogram and how much it cost. I am not a executive or what,I’m just a simple woman who works here in Dubai and lookin for a good and reasonable price for mammogram here..I’ll be waitin for reply Thanx!

    Vine

    August 27, 2012 at 12:31 am

  7. Has anyone done it recently where would you advise?

    Rebecca

    July 27, 2015 at 11:46 am


Leave a Reply

