Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The supermarket cheese-tasting

with 8 comments

So I’m walking through Choitrams on the never-ending search for Quorn mince (does anyone know where I can find this?) when a sales lady holding two plates of cheese invites me to try some.

“Okay,” I say. I am, after all, a little peckish and a cube of cheese might be better than a six-pack of the chocolate croissants I’m thinking about. “What are they?”

“Cheese,” she says.  

Normal cheese, chewy cheese, soggy cheese and smelly cheese

I try again. “What’s this one?” I ask, pointing at the paler one.

“Normal cheese,” she says, deadpan.

“And this one?” I point to a reddish one. “Red Leicester?”

“Cheddar.”

There’s a pause while I weigh up cheddar or “normal cheese”.

“Try both,” she says, helpfully. So I do. They’re okay. Certainly they’ll keep the tummy demons quiet for a few more minutes, but I think I ought to enquire some more as she’s presumably trying to sell the stuff.

“Mmm,” I say, raising an eyebrow in some sort of “yummy” face. “Nice. So which ones are they?”

The sales lady looks blank. I point at the cheese counter.

“Which ones are they here? To buy?”

“American,” she says.

“American cheese?” I ask. “What brand?”

She looks blank. “American,” she repeats.

“Thank you,” I tell her. “Very nice.”

I leave, wondering if she’s there to sell cheese after all; maybe it’s just a snack service for hungry shoppers. Dubai can be a funny place, you know.

 
Written by mrsdubai

October 19, 2011 at 8:05 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Quorn mince at LuLu’s, I’ll look out for the “american” cheese, lol

    Expat Mammy

    October 20, 2011 at 12:11 am

    • Thank you, you star. That must be the only place I have not looked!

      mrsdubai

      October 20, 2011 at 12:06 pm

  2. Brilliant!

    tara rogers (@dubaitara)

    October 20, 2011 at 8:17 am

  3. Hmm, I see your point. By the way, you are now on blogroll!

    mehmudah

    October 20, 2011 at 10:22 am

  4. this is priceless!

    Britney of Arabia

    October 20, 2011 at 11:01 am

  5. this is SO dubai….in a nutshell, sums it up to me
    funny when it’s some cheese you don’t care about and infuriating when it’s something that actually matters

    amanda

    October 20, 2011 at 11:25 am


Leave a Reply

