Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Why you should get your boobs checked by a doctor

with 6 comments

I’m not the sort to jump on the breast cancer month wagon, but there’s a little story I’d like to share with you.

In my opinion, checking yourself is not enough, either. Unless you're a doctor.

 

I went for my first ever Well Woman check yesterday. I didn’t go because it was the pink, fluffy month of October, but because I’d promised myself I’d go once I turned 40 and it’s taken me eight months to actually do it.

You know how it is when you’re a mum – unless you literally can’t get out of bed, your own health falls well below homework, school runs, grocery shopping, shoe shopping, work, play dates, pedicures and cooking in terms of importance.

But finally I got sick of seeing the yellow piece of paper with the doctor’s number on it gathering dust on my desk, so I called and – hey presto – got an appointment the very next day (don’t you love Dubai).

The doctor did all the usual stuff, then the manual breast exam. I often have a poke at my boobs in the shower and I’m happy to report there’s nothing wrong. No lumps, no bumps, nothing sinister, so I was feeling quite laid back about it all.

But the doctor, just by trotting her fingers over me, managed to find three areas of tenderness, and two “hard masses” that need investigation by mammogram. Go figure.

She said they’re probably just cysts and nothing to worry about, so I’m not worrying. But it’s made me wonder how I could have checked myself countless times and not found them. Honestly, if you do one thing for yourself before 2011 ends, get yourself checked by a professional.

I went to the Well Woman Clinic, Allied Diagnostic building, Al Diyafah St. Consultation: Dhs 370. PAP smear Dhs 350. Mammogram and ultrasound extra.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ll feel a lot better once you have had the test, it’s quick and not uncomfortable by comparrison to other female cancer checks. I also had a tender, hard mass investigated – it was fine, Dr said that generally, sinister lumps aren’t tender, but we’d better just investigate etc. Although I really agree with regular health checks, the side effect is anxiety! And health anxiety is exacerbated by both age and Dr Google, with whom I’m well acquainted … BLxx

    Bearlady

    October 19, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    • Thanks for that, BL. I really appreciate it. I’m not really worried, mainly surprised that I never spotted it myself. And I guess ‘what if?’always goes through your mind. Are you living back in England now? xox

      mrsdubai

      October 19, 2011 at 7:15 pm

  2. Well said. And well done for going xx

    Circles in the Sand

    October 20, 2011 at 10:35 am

  3. i had a mammogram last month and they found a cyst. they’re keeping an eye on it. am sure yours will most likely be the same. good luck!

    Britney of Arabia

    October 20, 2011 at 10:55 am

  4. Yes, I’m back in England! I didn’t want to move to Dubai at all, tacky/fake/no culture – all the usual reasons. It took me a year to settle, and see how narrow-minded I had been. I now miss the weather, the vast landscapes, riding at Mushrif and most of all the lovely friends I made. On a positive note I have managed to shed some weight and am very busy! I do check your blog for a Dubai shot!

    Oh, and purely on the strength of your blog I booked a mammogram, haven’t had one for a few years and have been meanng to do it for months. BLxx

    Bearlady

    October 21, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    • Glad to have poked you into going for your mammogram!! Thanks for reading 🙂 xxx

      mrsdubai

      October 24, 2011 at 10:17 am


Leave a Reply

