Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Paint job

with 5 comments

If you’ve wondered why I’ve been so quiet on the blog since the weekend, it’s because my house was turned upside down and, in the resultant mess, I could barely find my brain, let alone the computer.

Were we burgled, you might ask if we still lived in Sarf London, but, given our location here in the verdant fields of Arabia, being burgled is not really a pertinent question. No, we was not burgled: We was painted.

It’s lovely to own our own house here in Dubai. Really, despite my gripes with the property developer, it’s great to be able to do what I like with the house. I have no qualms in making major changes because I know it’s ours and will be for as long as we choose to remain here (or until we move to Barari, but that’s a story for another day).

And it’s amazing how tiresome the regulation magnolia paintwork can get in six years, not to mention how dirty when you have two small grubby-handed children. So I had the whole interior repainted this week.

Pale taupe, white and black-brown.... my colour palette for the next 6 years

“Don’t choose too cool a colour,” warned my design-conscious friend, as I vowed to stamp out any trace of creams or yellows, opting for a neutral palette of white, black-brown and what I hoped was a very light taupe (without a hint of yellow). “It can look purple in a certain light.”

But, as the first coat went on, what did I see but a hint of pinky-purple. “Oh god,” I thought, quickly adding up the cost of the paint and the decorators, not to mention the inconvenience of being shut out of my study for two days, and wondering what I could tell DH. “What a mistake to make.”

But I’m happy to say that, as coat two went on and the paint dried, it’s settled to a beautiful pale taupe with, if I’m really critical, a very, very slight hint of heather, in a certain light.

I can’t say I dislike it.

Written by mrsdubai

October 4, 2011 at 7:38 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aaah yes how lovely,
    I dream of painting over this drab nondescript yellow that we seem to be subjected to here (in Dubai) by each and every unimaginative property developer – lucky you.
    Enjoy it!

    Catherine

    October 5, 2011 at 9:18 am

  2. It’s very new and shiney, think magnolia or sand coloured white is bog standard for Dubai

    Expat Mammy

    October 5, 2011 at 9:28 am

  3. She likes it!!! PHEW!!!

    DH

    October 6, 2011 at 9:33 am

  4. Just wait till you hear what she wants to do next!!

    Kate

    October 10, 2011 at 1:59 am

  5. Congrats for your own house in Dubai. I loved the way you described your home and the decoration. So, finally you made your home of your dreams and decorated it. I love the cool painted, clean and decorated home. Thanks for sharing.

    Mahnoor Khalid

    January 16, 2014 at 11:35 am


Leave a Reply

