Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Dear financial advisor / Dear bank.

with 2 comments

I don’t know at which school you trained, but let me give you a quick crash course. If you want me to get your hands on any my family’s hard-earned cash, please pay heed to the following:

          Cold-calling at lunchtime, school pick-up time, kids’ dinner-time, bath-time or bedtime will get you nothing more than an irritated “not interested”.

          Asking me “when’s a good time to call?” will also get you a curt reply. You want this call, not me! If you push it, the answer’s “never”.

          Getting my name wrong will never impress me.

          If you think I’ve got to the age of 40 and had two children without planning my financial future, you’re underestimating me. That’s doesn’t make me like you.

          Telling me I’ve been selected as one of “Dubai’s highest earners” makes me realise how badly informed you are. I am a housewife. My income is zero; it’s measured in the heart, not the wallet.

          Telling me I’m a valued client when I closed my accounts with your bank in disgust back in 2007 isn’t a good introductory sentence.

          Telling me I’ve been selected for a preferential mortgage rate is, quite frankly, ridiculous. One, I already have a house, and two, do I have to say it again? I have no income!

          Sending me a gold credit card that I haven’t asked for just embarrasses the courier as I will foam at the mouth, curse the bank and refuse to accept delivery.

          Assuming that because I’m a housewife I have all the time in the world to “meet for coffee and a chat” (“Everyone has time for a coffee, don’t they, Mrs Dubai?” Um. No) insults me.

          Asking to meet me in Costa Coffee makes me feel uncomfortable. Do you really expect me to divulge me family’s financial status in a public coffee shop? Seriously?

          If I agree to see you, calling me up from your car to tell me that my house doesn’t exist, just because you can’t find it, makes me wish you didn’t exist.

          And, finally, you turning up in a car that cost more than my house makes me want to lock the door and run as fast as I can in the opposite direction.

Kind regards,

Mrs Dubai

Written by mrsdubai

September 27, 2011 at 2:08 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, well done!

    Kate

    September 28, 2011 at 1:59 am

  2. It could seriously only happen in Dubai.x

    Expat Mammy

    September 29, 2011 at 6:47 pm


Leave a Reply

