Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The wrong type of legs

leave a comment »

I did an exercise class this morning. Apart from the Zumba I tried before the summer, it was the first aerobics class I’ve done in 20 years.

I won’t bore you with the details other than to say it was a hi-impact cardio class that had me panting against the wall before even the five-minute warm-up was over (seriously).

There was a lot of coordinated hand and leg moves and a lot of fancy footwork, though nothing I haven’t seen before. But, as I bounced about behind the instructor, getting my feet mixed up and panting like a steam train, I had an epiphany.

What I realised, while watching the mirror mid-class, was that having long arms and long legs is a hindrance in an aerobics class. While my smaller, squatter, more muscular classmates were able to move their limbs with fast and neat efficiency, I flailed around like an octopus, the pendulum effect of my long legs meaning I had to move my feet twice as far further to achieve the same result. No wonder I struggle to keep up.

Clearly, aerobics clearly isn’t suitable for anyone with longer limbs than average. And my incompetence has got absolutely nothing to do with being unfit.

You heard me. Nothing at all.

Written by mrsdubai

September 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

