Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Mummy’s boy

with 5 comments

While most children have been back at school for ages by now, my littlest hobo, DS, only goes back tomorrow. He’s had nearly three months off school – and do you know what three months off school does for you?

It gives you a mummy’s boy.

I sent DS to nursery from the age of six months, precisely because I didn’t want him to be clingy (I’m Aquarius – we dislike clinginess be it in children, pets or husbands). We got through the separation thing and I was very pleased with my little boy who would trot happily into nursery without any fuss, and who waves me out of the house with a “Bye, mummy! See you later!” if I need to pop out.

But what I’ve got after spending three intense months with him is a mummy’s boy. “Mummy” has to do everything – Gerlie may as well file her toenails all day given he won’t let her do anything for him.  It’s all “Mummy do it!”, “I want mummy!” or “Mummy play it wiv me.”

I suppose there’s a tiny part of me that finds it sweet but, mostly, I find it beyond irritating, especially when I’ve given him 12 non-stop hours and I’ve been desperate for a chance to send just a couple of emails, make a phone call or look up something on the internet without my office chair being dragged across the floor (with me on it). So, as you can imagine, I’ve been hanging for tomorrow, when the little person goes back to nursery – just for four and a half hours a day (which still leaves plenty of time to choo-choo Thomas the Tank Engine round the living room floor in the afternoon).

“Back to school tomorrow!” I told him happily today, getting out his diddy uniform.

“No!” he said, folding his arms resolutely and giving me his stern look. “I not go school tomorrow. I stay home wiv mummy.” He almost stamped his little foot.

Wish me luck in the morning.

Written by mrsdubai

September 13, 2011 at 8:26 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck indeed. Nannimar. x

    Kate

    September 14, 2011 at 1:15 am

  2. I know EXACTLY what you mean! Good luck! LB, who loved nursery before the summer, went back very reluctantly a week ago…and now we have a new reason for screaming in the morning- his brother is now on the school bus and LB is beside himself that he can’t take a bus to his nursery, just over the road!

    Circles in the Sand

    September 14, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    • Hi Circles in the Sand, I hope B has settled now? I ‘m having a terrible time with DS who clings to me like a koala at drop-off and screams hysterically when his teacher peels him off me. It’s very distressing. xox

      mrsdubai

      September 19, 2011 at 6:07 pm

      • Hi Mrs Dubai! Just saw this – poor DS and poor you! Nothing worse than leaving a screaming child at nursery, even when you know he’ll probably end up having a lovely time. Is it getting easier? I hope so! Must dash coz off to Tips and Toes while DH is home – he’s just back from a little solo vacation so owes me one this afternoon!! Good luck with those nursery drop offs – do a blog on it soon! xxxxx

        Circles in the Sand

        September 26, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  3. Thanks!! This week we’ve had success. He’s been going in without crying, which is a load off my mind. Hope you had a relaxing few minutes at T&T! xxx

    mrsdubai

    September 26, 2011 at 7:45 pm


Leave a Reply

